ECS SUMMER FELLOWSHIP WINNERS

Each year The Electrochemical Society gives up to four Summer Research Fellowships to assist students in continuing their graduate work during the summer months in a field of interest to the Society. The 2002 Summer Fellowship recipients are:



The recipient of the Society's Edward G. Weston Summer Research Fellowship, TAILAI HU, received his BE in Power Engineering from Huazhong University of Science and Technology (HUST) in 1993, and an ME in Thermal Power Engineering in 1996 at the same university. He worked as a research engineer at the Central

China Electrical Power Company in China. In 1999, he joined Professor Nick Glumac's research group and is currently pursuing his PhD under the direction of Professor Glumac at the University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign. His research focuses on the effects of temperature slip on chemical vapor deposition modeling for deposition of thin film materials, such as silicon, silicon carbide, gallium arsenide, and diamond. Hu is also investigating temperature jump in catalytic combustion, which holds great potential for MEMS devices, such as micro-combustors.



The recipient of the Society's Colin Garfield Fink Summer Research Fellowship, SHANE PEPER, graduated in 1998 with honors from Viterbo College (La Crosse, WI) with a BS in chemistry and biology. Currently, he is a PhD candidate in analytical chemistry at Auburn University, working under the direction of Dr. Eric Bakker. Peper's research

interests include neutral carrier-based ion-selective chemical sensors utilizing potentiometric and optical transduction schemes, as well as ion-selective microspheres based on bulk extraction principles.



The recipient of the Society's Joseph W. Richards Summer Research Fellowship, **BRIAN FRANCE**, received a bachelor's degree in chemistry and biology from the University of Southern Colorado. He graduated *summa cum laude* in 1998 with many honors and awards. His undergraduate research included work at the University of Southern Colorado

with Dr. Christina Proctor and a summer research internship with Prof. Robert E. Blankenship at Arizona State University. Currently, he is a PhD candidate at Colorado State University under the direction of Bruce A. Parkinson. His thesis research involves the investigation of the interface between metallic contacts and small molecule semiconducting organic materials.



The recipient of the Society's F. M. Becket Summer Research Fellowship, SALLY A. WASILESKI, was enrolled as a chemistry major at Juniata College in Huntingdon, Pennsylvania. After graduating with honors in 1998, she enrolled in the PhD program in the Department of Chemistry at Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana. At

Purdue, Wasileski had worked under the late Prof. Michael Weaver, studying potential-dependent adsorption and vibrational properties of molecules bound to surfaces of electrochemical and catalytic interest using density functional theory. After the death of her research advisor, Wasileski has chosen to continue this field of research independently. She is formally supervised by Purdue University professor Garth Simpson.

ECS Summer Research Fellowships—Call for Nominations

The Electrochemical Society is currently soliciting applications for the 2003 Society Summer Fellowships, which are given each year to assist a student in continuing his/her graduate work during the summer months in a field of interest to the Society. Each year the Society gives up to four such fellowships, worth \$4,000 each.

In order to be eligible for a Summer Fellowship, the individual must be a graduate student pursuing work between the degree of BS and PhD, in a college or university, who will continue his or her studies after the summer period. A previous holder of a Summer Fellowship is eligible for reappointment.

Qualified graduate students are invited to apply for these fellowships. Applicants must complete an application form and supply the following information: (1) a brief statement of educational objectives; (2) a brief statement of the thesis research problem, including objectives, work already accomplished, and work planned for the summer of 2003; (3) a transcript of undergraduate and graduate academic work; and (4) two letters of recommendation, one of which should be from the applicant's research advisor.

As it is the spirit of these awards that they be the sole sponsor of the summer graduate work, successful recipients of a fellowship must agree not to hold other appointments or other fellowships during the summer of 2003.

Application forms are available from the chairman of the Fellowship Award Subcommittee, to whom completed applications and letters of recommendation should be sent: R. McCarley, Department of Chemistry, Choppin Laboratories of Chemistry, Louisana State University, Baton Rouge, LA 70803, tel: 225.388.3239, fax: 225.388.3458, e-mail: tunnel@lsu.edu.

The deadline for receipt of completed applications is January 1, 2003. Award winners will be announced on April 1, 2003.