Pennington Corner

The "Boys" of Summer



he United States Major League Baseball players are called the "Boys of Summer" because sports

fans consider them to be the chosen or lucky few who play a great game during the best season of the year. At ECS we have our own Boys, and Girls, of Summer-it's those outstanding graduate students fortunate enough to spend the best season of their year continuing their research on an ECS Summer Fellowship. This season, our lucky students are Julien Bréger (Stony Brook University), François Laforge (Queens College), Alex Martinson (Northwestern University), and Yuming Yang (Louisiana State University).

ECS has been granting Summer Fellowships to outstanding students for over 75 years. Our Summer Fellowships are used to support the continuation of summer research for graduate students studying electrochemical and solid-state science and technology. Some very prominent scientists have been "ECS 'Boys' of Summer," including Vittorio de Nora (1938 Summer Fellow), who also happens to be the Society's Edward G. Acheson Award Winner this year. Professor de Nora is credited with developing the dimensionally-stable anode, which advanced the world chemical industry in the 1960s. Other distinguished ECS Summer Fellows include Henry Linford, 1936 Summer Fellow, ECS Secretary from 1949 to 1959, and ECS President from 1961 to 1962;

Larry Faulkner, 1962 Summer Fellow, former President of the University of Texas, and ECS President from 1991 to 1992; and Kathryn Bullock, 1962 Summer Fellow and ECS President from 1995 to 1996.

ECS Summer Fellowships currently provide a \$4,000 scholarship to each recipient, and are open to graduate and post-graduate students for summer study at any accredited

university or college anywhere in the world. We selected an excellent group of students for continued study this past summer, and the results of their research will be published in a future issue of Interface. Next summer, ECS will again be granting four Summer Fellowships, all of which are named after renowned ECS members (see sidebar).

With the increasingly large number of applicants for ECS Summer Fellowships, our Development Office has been working vigorously to acquire funding to expand the program (see sidebar for additional information). In order to keep up with rising academic costs, we have set a goal to increase the amount of each Summer Fellowship to \$5,000, and to add at least one additional Fellowship. A group of ECS members, led by Ron Latanision and Greta Uhlig, are in the process of raising funds for a new Summer Fellowship in honor of late ECS President Herbert H. Uhilg. A professor at MIT for 42 years, Dr. Uhlig mentored numerous outstanding corrosionists, and literally wrote the book on corrosion with his scientific bestseller Corrosion Handbook (1948).

With the additional funding generated from our Centennial Campaign, and through the work of Vimal Desai and our dedicated Summer Fellowship Committee (see sidebar), we expect to continue supporting the ECS Boys and Girls of Summer for many years, and enable those stimulating summers for young scientists and engineers in our field.

I come J. Coluo Roque J. Calvo

Executive Director

ECS Summer Fellowships

ECS currently offers four Summer Fellowships for graduate and post-graduate summer studies, each Fellowship in the amount of \$4,000. The Summer Fellowships are named in honor of four renowned ECS members:

- Joseph W. Richards, 1st ECS President and Founding Member
- Edward G. Weston, 5th ECS President, Founding Member, and inventor of the Weston Cell
- Frederick M. Becket, 28th ECS President
- Colin G. Fink, 30th ECS President and Secretary from 1921 to 1947.

For more information about the ECS Summer Fellowships, contact Heidi Rixman, Director of Membership and Development at 609.737.1902 or heidi.rixman@electrochem.org.

Summer Fellowship Committee

Vimal Desai, Chair, New Mexico State University • Gary Blanchard, Michigan State University Stanton Ching, Connecticut College • Daniel Higgins, Kansas State University • Theodore Kuwana, University of Kansas Jordan Poler, University of North Carolina at Charlotte • Mary Elizabeth Williams, Pennsylvania State University Francis Zamborini, University of Louisville • C. J. Zhong, State University of New York at Binghamton