SECTION NEWS

Canadian Section

The 2011 Spring Symposium of the Canadian Section was organized by Gregory Jerkiewicz (Queen's University) and Bradley Easton (University of Ontario Institute of Technology). The symposium was held in Chernoff Hall at Queen's University April 9, 2011. The symposium theme was entitled, "Modern Electrochemistry and Electroand included over 50 catalysis" participants (comprised of academic researchers, graduate students, and industry members). The symposium consisted of morning and afternoon sessions, a poster session, and a wine cheese reception. Gianluigi and Botton (McMaster University) delivered the keynote presentation, entitled, "Application of Ultrahigh-Resolution Electron Microscopy on the Study of Complex Catalyst Nanoparticles." Eleven other invited speakers presented lectures throughout the morning and afternoon, followed by three-minute student mini

presentations. The poster session was followed by a wine and cheese reception where three student poster awards were presented to: Amanda Quirk (First Place, University of Guelph), Jesse Allan (Second Place, University of Ontario Institute of Technology), and Rebecca Holmberg (Third Place, Queen's University).

HUA-ZHONG "HOGAN" YU, a professor in the Department of Chemistry of Simon Fraser University (SFU), is the recipient of the Lash Miller Award. Dr. Yu has a very active research program which spans a broad range of topics in electrochemistry, analytical chemistry, and surface science. He is particularly known for his contributions to the

fundamental understanding of self-assembled monolayers on noble metal (Au) and semiconductor surfaces. He also pioneered on the application of standard computer drive to read disc-based bioassays, and is very active on the development of DNA-based electrochemical biosensors.



AHMAD GHARHEMANINEZHAD, a PhD student under Edouard Asselin and David Dixon's supervision at the Department of Materials Engineering of the University of British Columbia, is the winner of the Canadian Section Student Award. Mr. Gharhemaninezhad is a dedicated researcher with an already impressive publication record for

his career stage. He is also an exceptional communicator who delivers organized and well-thought out scientific lectures. Mr. Gharhemaninezhad's research is related to the development of electrochemical models to understand electrode processes which occur on mineral surfaces.



GIANLUIGI BOTTON delivered the keynote presentation at the spring 2011 symposium of the Canadian Section.



AMANDA QUIRK (left) received the First Place Award in the Student Poster Session from conference organizers Bradley Easton (center) and Gregory Jerkiewicz (right) at the spring 2011 symposium of the Canadian Section.



Jesse Allan (left) received the Second Place Award in the Student Poster Session from conference organizers **Bradley Easton** (center) and **Gregory Jerkiewicz** (right) at the spring 2011 symposium of the Canadian Section.



Rebecca Holmberg (left) received the Third Place Award in the Student Poster Session from conference organizers **Bradley Easton** (center) and **Gregory Jerkiewicz** (right) at the spring 2011 symposium of the Canadian Section.