Georgia Section

The Georgia Section and the Atlanta Student Chapter of the Electrochemical Society hosted a joint meeting on Friday, April 18, 2014 at the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta, GA. The event attracted roughly 50 professors, postdoctoral associates, graduate students, and undergraduates from Clemson University, Georgia Tech, Tennessee Tech, The University of Georgia, and The University of Tennessee. The meeting featured an invited talk by Krishnan Rajeshwar, ECS Vice President, and Interim Associate Vice President for Research at the University of Texas, Arlington. His talk, entitled, "Bioinspired Systems for Energy Conversion," provided an overview of photoelectrochemistry as applied to water splitting, carbon dioxide reduction, oxygen reduction, and nitrogen fixation.

In addition to this excellent plenary talk, a poster competition was held and twenty-one students presented posters covering topics ranging from fuel cells and batteries to electrochemical atomic layer deposition, gas sensing, and triboelectric nanogeneration. First prize was awarded to John Ahlfield (Georgia Tech) for his poster entitled, "Materials and Cell Designs for Alkaline Direct Methanol Fuel Cells." Alireza Mahdavifar (Georgia Tech) won the second prize with his poster, "Ultra-Low Power Fast Micro Thermal Conductivity Sensor for Gas Detection and GC Purposes." Kaushik Jagannathan (University of Georgia) and Maria Ledina (University of Georgia) tied for third place with their posters "Studies on Hydrogen Sorption and Its Kinetics from Pt Modified Pd Nanofilms" and "Investigation into the Electrochemical Formation of the Germanium Analog of Graphene (Germanene) by E-ALD," respectively. The organizers would like to thank Dr. Rajeshwar and all of the poster presenters for making the afternoon a success.



A group photograph of the meeting participants.



Winners of the poster competition, left-to-right, John Ahlfield, Alireza Mahdavifar, Maria Ledina, and Kaushik Jagannathan.

Korea Section

The Korea Section symposium was held on April 10, 2014 at Changwon Convention Center in Changwon, Korea. The symposium was organized by Yung-Eun Sung (Section Chairman) and Soo-Kil Kim (Section Secretary). It was composed of six talks on batteries, molten salt electrodeposition, organic photovoltaics, and fuel cells. At the end of the symposium, Haegyeom Kim received the 2014 Student Award of the Korea Section with a cash prize of \$500 from the Society. During the symposium, he also presented his recent work titled, "Graphene-Based Electrodes for Energy Storage Applications." He is a PhD candidate at the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Seoul National University, Korea. He received his BS degree from Hanyang University in 2009 and MS degree from KAIST in 2011. His current research interest is in the area of lithium batteries and graphene. He is the author of many papers in Nano Energy, the Journal of Materials Chemistry, Advanced Energy Materials, and others. The next award will be presented at the spring symposium of the section in 2015.



HAEGYEOM KIM receiving the 2014 Student Award of the Korea Section.



HAEGYEOM KIM giving his presentation on "Graphene-Based Electrodes for Energy Storage Applications."

New Section Officers

New officers for the 2014-2016 terms have been elected for the following Sections.

Arizona Section

Chair

Candace Chan, Arizona State University

Vice Chair

Srini Raghavan, University of Arizona

Secretary

Don Gervasio, University of Arizona

Treasurer

Arunachala Kannan, Arizona State University

Brazil Section

Chair

Luís Frederico Dick, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul

Vice Chair

Hercílio de Melo, Universidade de Sao Paulo

Secretary/ Treasurer

Sabrina da Silva, Universidade Federal Do Rio Grande Do Sul

Canada Section

Chair

Michael Eikerling, Simon Fraser

Vice Chair Membership

Thamara Laredo, Lakehead University

Vice Chair Programs

E. Bradley Easton, University of Ontario Institute of Technology

Secretary

Christa Brosseau, Saint Mary's University

Treasurer

Ian Burgess, University of Saskatchewan

Chicago Section

Chair

Christopher Berney, AMETEK - Scientific Instruments

We are searching for new officers. Contact Christopher Berney, at christopher.Berney@ametek.com, if interested in serving.

Chile Section

Election pending. Information to come.

China Section

Chair

MA Zi Feng, Shanghai Jiao Tong University

Vice-Chair

Yong Yao Xia, Fudan University

Secretary/Treasurer

Gangadhara Mathad, S/C Tech Consulting USA

Cleveland Section

Chair

Irina Serebrennikova, Energizer

Vice Chair

Heidi Martin, Case Western Reserve University

Secretary

James Burgess, Case Western Reserve University

Treasurer

George Zheng, Energizer

Detroit Section

Chair

Stephen Maldonado, University of Michigan

Secretary

Neil Johnson, Ricardo Inc

Treasurer

Jay Pyper, SkyVue Market Development

Europe Section

Chair

D. Noel Buckley, University of Limerick

Vice Chair

Claude Levy-Clement, CNRS

Secretary/ Treasurer

Rabah Boukherroub, CNRS Univ of Lille

Georgia Section

Chair

Peter Hesketh, Georgia Institute of Technology

Vice Chair

Lawrence Bottomley, Georgia Institute of Technology

Secretary

Baratunde Cola, Georgia Institute of Technology

Treasurer

Jeffrey Fergus, Auburn University

India Section

Chair

Kallarackel Jacob, Indian Institute of Science

Vice Chair

Vijayamohanan Pillai, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)

Treasurer

Subramanyan Vasudevan, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)

Israel Section

Chair

Daniel Mandler, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Secretary

Tal Amzel, Tel Aviv University

Treasurer

Diana Golodnitsky, Tel-Aviv University

Japan Section

Chair

Hiroshi Nishihara, The University of Tokyo

First Vice-Chair

Hiroshi Iwai, Tokyo Institute of Technology

Second Vice-Chair

Masayoshi Watanabe, Yokohama National University

Secretary/Treasurer

Yasushi Idemoto, Tokyo University of Science

Korea Section

Chair

Yung-Eun Sung, Seoul National University

Secretary/Treasurer

Soo Kil Kim, Chung Ang University

Mexico Section

Chair

Ignacio Gonzalez, University Autonoma Metropolitana-Iztapalapa

Vice Chair

Manuel Palomar-Pardave, U A M

Secretary/ Treasurer

Bernardo Frontana-Uribe, Inst de Quimica UNAM

National Capital Section

Chair

Eric Wachsman, University of Maryland

Vice Chair

Robert Kelly, University of Virginia

Secretary/Treasurer

Paul Natishan, Naval Research Laboratory

New England Section

Chair

Sanjeev Mukerjee, Northeastern University

Vice Chair

Eugene Smotkin, Northeastern University

Secretary

Aleksander Jaworski, Technic Inc.

Treasurer

Minhua Shao, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Pittsburgh Section

Chair

Clifford Walton, Calgon Carbon Corp.

Vice Chair

Prashanth Jampani Hanumantha, University of Pittsburgh

Secretary/Treasurer

Bharat Gattu, University of Pittsburgh

San Francisco Section

Chair

Feng Lin, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Vice Chair

Sanjeev Sharma, Envia Systems Inc.

Second Vice Chair

Shawna Smith, Quantumscape Corporation

Treasurer

Oana Leonte, Berkeley Polymer Technology

Taiwan Section

Chair

Cheng-lun Wang, Hsieh Shun Plating Co. Ltd

Vice Chai

Hsisheng Teng, National Cheng Kung University

Secretary

Wei-Nien Su, National Taiwan University of Science and Technology

Treasurer

Sean Lin, Cookson Electronics

Texas Section

Chair

Harovel Wheat, The University of Texas at Austin

Vice Chair

Keith Stevenson, The University of Texas at Austin

Secretary/Treasurer

Guihua Yu, The University of Texas at Austin

Twin Cities Section

Chair

Vincent Chevrier, 3M Company

Vice Chair

Peter Zhang, Medtronic Inc.

Secretary

Jagat Singh, 3M Company

Treasurer

Alan Shi, Medtronic