SECTION NEWS

Canadian Section Canadienne Regional "Young Author" Symposium



Members of electrochemistry research groups at the Electrochemical Technology Center at the University of Guelph.

At the last Canadian Section Executive Committee meeting, the possibilities of increasing the involvement and activities of students and recent post-graduate students with the Canadian Section of ECS was discussed. It was suggested that the Canadian Section experiment with low-cost "Young Author" symposia to be held on an *ad hoc* basis. There would be no strict format to these events, except that the activities would concentrate around the research activities and interests of students and post-graduate students. Graduate students and postdoctoral fellows would find an opportunity to give oral presentations and discuss their work, meet other students in their field, and make contacts for potential future endeavors.

On August 2, 2002, the first such experiment took place when a group of interested southwestern Ontario electrochemists met at the University of Guelph for a one-day inaugural session, graciously hosted by Jacek Lipkowski and the members of Guelph's Electrochemistry Technology Centre (ETC). Approximately 45 participants from the University of Guelph, York University, Queens University, and the University of Western Ontario attended. Because this was only the first episode of what the organizers hope will become a recurring event, the organizers chose to

adopt a "getting-to-know-you" format. The morning consisted of a series of ten-minute summaries by the research group leaders, designed to give a brief overview of the research themes of each group and to introduce the research personnel. In the afternoon, participants enjoyed a tour of the ETC, and then five graduate students and postdoctoral researchers gave excellent talks on their individual research projects. The day concluded quite pleasantly with a picnic at the Lipkowski home.

The southwestern Ontario group intends to build on this initial positive momentum and reunite periodically under the ECS banner. Now that the groups have introduced themselves, future events will likely focus more on individual research projects, giving the graduate students more opportunities to distinguish themselves with oral presentations and posters. Out of the necessity to avoid vacations, research trips, and the start of the fall semester, this meeting came together very quickly; and the organizers expect that future recurrences, organized with a greater lead-time, will be more widely advertised. The organizers hope that the success of this event will inspire groups in other regions to organize their own local get-togethers.

National Capital Section Wins Gwendolyn B. Wood Section Excellence Award

GUY DAVIS (left), 2001 chairman of the NATIONAL CAPTIAL SECTION, received the 2001-2002 Gwendolyn B. Wood Section Excellence Award on behalf of his Section from ECS President Karl Spear (right). This is the sixth time that the Section has received the award. In other Section News, the CANADIAN SECTION was made a Master Section.



Section Chairmen

Arizona

Don Gervasio a275ab@email.mot.com

Brazilian

Maria Oliveira dora@ief.ita.br

Canadian

Christina Bock christina.bock@nrc.ca

Chicago

Petr Vanysek pvanysek@niu.edu

Cincinnati

Chong Ahn chong.ahn@uc.edu

Cleveland

Daniel Scherson dxs16@po.cwru.edu

Detroit

Kent Snyder snyderk2@panasonic.com

European

Patrik Schmuki schmuki@ww.uni-erlangen.de

Georgia

not available

Israel

Doron Aurbach aurbach@mail.biu.ac.il

Japan

Nobuyoshi Koshida koshida@cc.tuat.ac.jp

Korea

Su-Moon Park smpark@postech.edu

Metropolitan New York not available

National Capital

Robert Ruedisueli ruedisuelirl@nswccd.navy.mil

New England

Samuel Kounaves samuel.kounaves@tufts.edu

Pacific Northwest

not available

Pittsburgh

not available

San Francisco

Robert Kostecki r_kostecki@lbl.gov

South Texas

David Cocke cockedl@hal.lamar.edu

Twin Cities

Kevin Chen

kevin.chen@medtronic.com



Jean-Marie Tarascon (left) received the 2002 European Section Volta Award from Peter Bruce (right) at the recent Electrochem 2002 conference.

Jean-Marie Tarascon Receives the 2002 Volta Award

The Volta Award of the European Section was presented to Prof. Jean-Marie Tarascon of the University of Picardie at the U.K. Electrochem meeting (September 1-4). The presentation was made by Prof. Peter Bruce, who described the major contributions made by the medallist to the development of lithium batteries. Prof. Tarascon then gave a lively and entertaining award lecture covering both the fundamental science and practical applications of rechargeable lithium batteries, showing how key developments in chemistry and materials science have had a dramatic impact on their development. He described developments in both electrode materials as well as the considerable improvements in the engineering of plate-like plastic electrolytes.

The Electrochem meeting is one of a series of local European meetings sponsored by the European Section of ECS. It

was held at the University of Central Lancashire in northwest England. It attracted over 200 electrochemists, mainly from the U.K. and Ireland, with sessions on Electrochemistry on the Nanometer Scale, Electrochemical Engineering for Clean Technology, Bioelectrochemistry, and Sensors, in addition to the Energy Conversion and Storage session where Prof Tarascon gave his plenary lecture. The meeting also honored Prof. Henry White from the University of Utah with the Royal Society of Chemistry's Faraday Medal. Prof. White's award lecture featured his work on electrochemistry in magnetic fields, a theme that was picked up in a number of other papers on magnetic field effects in the New Frontiers session. The stimulating and enjoyable meeting is further testament to the health and vitality of electrochemistry within Europe.