SECTION NEWS

Canadian Section



Canadian Section Chair Aicheng Chen (right) presented the ECS past Section Chair pin to Sasha Omanovic (left).

The 2010 Annual General Meeting of the **ECS Canadian Section** was held on Monday, May 30, 2010, in Toronto. The meeting took place during a break of a symposium on "Electrochmistry and Electrocatalysis" of the 93rd Canadian Chemistry Conference and Exhibition that was co-organized by Gregory Jerkiewicz (Queen's University) and Michael Eikerling (Simon Fraser University). Currently, the Canadian section has about 350 members, following a significant growth in 2010. The meeting included the Chair's report presented by Aicheng Chen; nomination calls for the 2011 Lash Miller Award and the 2011 Student Award; and election of the 2010/2011 Executive Committee of the ECS Canadian Section.

The Section's 2010 R. C. Jacobsen Award was presented to **Jacek Lipkowski** (University of Guelph) for his notable and significant contributions to the functioning of the Canadian Section; and the Section's 2010 Electrochemical Award was presented to **David W. Shoesmith** (University of Western Ontario) for his significant contribution to the advancement of electrochemistry in Canada.



JACEK LIPKOWSKI (left) received the Canadian Section's 2010 R. C. Jacobsen Award from Sasha Omanovic (right).



DAVID W. SHOESMITH (left) received the Canadian Section's 2010 Electrochemical Award from **SYLVIE MORIN** (right).

Cleveland Section



Jacek Lipkowski was the 2010 recipient of the Ernest B. Yeager Electrochemistry Award, which was presented at a special symposium sponsored by the ECS Cleveland Section on November 11, 2010 at Case Western University. Professor Lipkowski was chosen for the award because of significant contributions to the advancement of electrochemistry.

The Ernest B. Yeager Electrochemistry Award of the ECS Cleveland Section is awarded once every two years (on even years) to an individual in recognition of significant contributions to the advancement of electrochemistry in the U.S. Midwest and Great Lakes region. The recipient may have made his or her contributions while working in the U.S. or Canada, but need not be a Canadian or U.S. citizen. Candidates may be nominated from industry, government, or academia.

Korean Section



The recipient of ECS Korea Section Student Award for 2010 was **Ji hyung Han**, a PhD student in the Department of Chemistry at Seoul National University, Korea. Her expected date of graduation is February 2102, and her thesis advisor is Taek Dong Chung. Ms. Ji hyung Han received the award in recognition of the fundamental research on confined dynamics of

charge transfer reaction of reactant molecules in porous structures, experimentally and theoretically; and the development of the structural design of the porous catalysts on the nanoscale for electrochemical sensors.

Looking for Section News

We welcome the opportunity to share with our membership, the scientific advances and activity news from your Section. Please forward information on educational programs (already held or upcoming), the names of award winners, and results of your elections to ecs@electrochem.org so we may include in future issues of *Interface*.

EGS www.electrochem.org