199th Meeting - Washington, DC

March 25-30, 2001


P1 - Metal and Semiconductor Nanoclusters

Energy Technology Division/Fullerenes Group

Monday, March 26, 2001

Rooms 12 & 13, Meeting Room Level

Co-Chairs: G. Hartland and L.M. Liz-Marzan

10:00644 Spectroscopy and Trapping Dynamics in MoS2 and WS2 Nanoclusters - V. Chikan, M. Waterland, J. Huang, and D. Kelley (Kansas State University) PDF
10:30645 Femtosecond IR Study of Electron Injection Dynamics In Dye Sensitized Nanocrystalline Semiconductor Thin Films - T. Lian (Emory Unversity) PDF
11:00646 Photoelectrochemical Degradation of Methylene Blue Dye on Nanocrystalline Semiconductor Electrodes - J. Luo and M. Hepel (State University of New York at Potsdam) PDF
11:30647 Some Interesting Observed Properties of Material Confined in Time and Nanometer Space of Different Shapes - M.A. El-Sayed (Georgia Institute of Technology) PDF

Co-Chairs: D. Kelley and T. Lian

2:00648 Sols and Gels of Silica-Coated Metal Clusters and Quantum Dots - M.A. Correa-Duarte, Y. Kobayashi, and L.M. Liz-Marzán (Universidade de Vigo) PDF
2:30649 Electroless Polyol Deposition of Nanostructured FeNi Films - H. Yin and G.M. Chow (National University of Singapore) PDF
3:00650 Using Time-Resolved THz Spectroscopy (TRTS) to Probe Transient Photoconductivity in Nanoparticles - G. Turner, M. Beard, and C. Schmuttenmaer (Yale University) PDF
3:30 Fifteen-Minute Intermission
3:45651 Control of Tin Oxide Nanostructures Using Metal Nanoparticles on Arrays of Micro-hotplates - B. Panchapakesan, D. DeVoe (Maryland MEMS Laboratory), R. Cavicchi, and S. Semancik (National Institute of Standards and Technology) PDF
4:15652 Photochemical Properties of Gold Nanoparticles Modified with Self-Assembled Monolayers Containing Porphyrin and Ferrocene Groups - T. Kondo, M. Okamura, and K. Uosaki (Hokkaido University) PDF
4:45653 Exploring Photoelectrocatalytic Activities at Core-Shell Nanoparticle Assemblies - J. Luo, Y. Lou, M.M. Maye, and C.-J. Zhong (State University of New York at Binghamton) PDF

Tuesday, March 27, 2001

Co-Chairs: S. Mukerjee and V. Colvin

9:00654 Photoactivated Fluorescence from Individual Silver Nanoclusters - L. Peyser, A. Vinson, A. Bartko, and R. Dickson (Georgia Institute of Technology) PDF
9:30655 Nanostructured Materials Made from Artificial Opals - V. Colvin, P. Jiang, D. Mittleman, K. Kulinowski, J. Watkins (Rice University), and H. Vaswani (University of California, Berkeley) PDF
10:00656 N-type Semiconductor Nanocrystals - M. Shim, C. Wang, and P. Guyot-Sionnest (University of Chicago) PDF
10:30 Fifteen-Minute Intermission
10:45657 Nanometer-Scale Gold Structures in Molecular Forms - R.L. Whetten (Georgia Institute of Technology) PDF
11:15658 Characterization of Poly(4-undecyl-2,2'-bithiophene) as a Sensitizer and Hole Conductor in Solid State TiO2 Solar Cells - J. Zhang (University of California Santa Cruz), G. Smestad (Sol Ideas Technology Development), C. Grant, A. Schwartzberg (University of California Santa Cruz), L. Tolbert, and J. Kowalik (Georgia Institute of Technology) PDF

Co-Chairs: R.L. Whetten and P.V. Kamat

2:00659 Laser Induced Morphological Changes and Photocatalytic Aspects of Metal-Semiconductor Nanocomposites - P. Kamat and A. Dawson (University of Notre Dame) PDF
2:30660 Spectroscopy and Dynamics of Bi-Metallic Core-Shell Nanoparticles - G. Hartland, J. Hodak, and A. Henglein (University of Notre Dame) PDF
3:00661 Semiconductor Nanowires for Thermoelectric Devices - M.A. Ryan, A. Borshchevsky, J.A. Herman, R.M. Williams, and J.-P. Fleurial (Jet Propulsion Laboratory) PDF
3:00662 Nanocluster Optical Gap: Transition from Size Quantization to Lamb-Like Depolarization Shift - S.V. Rotkin (Beckman Institute, UIUC) PDF
3:30663 Characterization of Ge Nanocrystals Embedded in SiO2 Films - H. Fukuda, T. Yamada, S. Nomura (Muroran Institute of Technology), M. Nishino (Hokkaido Polytechnic College), T. Higuchi, and S. Ohshima (Fuji Research Institute Co.) PDF
4:00664 Development of Supercapacitors Using Clusters of Ti and C Nanostructures Fabricated by the Glancing Angle Deposition Technique - A. Wu, M. Colgan, M. Brett (University of Alberta), and J. Broughton (Micralyne Inc.) PDF