202nd Meeting - Salt Lake City, UT

October 20-25, 2002


P1 - Micropower and Microdevices

Energy Technology/Dielectric Science and Technology/Electronics/Battery

Monday October 21, 2002

Flagstaff Room, Second Floor, Little America Hotel


Co-Chairs: J. Harb and E. Brandon

2:00692 Microbatteries and Microdevices - J. Bates (Oak Ridge Micro-Energy)
2:45693 Optimization of Nickel-Zinc Microbatteries for Hybrid Powered Microsensor Systems - P. Humble and J. Harb (Brigham Young University)
3:15694 Laser Engineered Lithium-Ion Batteries for Custom Micro-Power Requirements - R. Wartena (Naval Resarch Laboratory), C. Arnold, A. Pique (Naval Research Laboratory), and K. Swider-Lyons (Naval Resarch Laboratory)
3:34 Fifteen-Minute Intermission -
4:00695 A Silicon/Pyrex Planar Microbattery - S.H. Kravitz, D. Ingersoll, N.S. Bell, and S.A. Zmuda (Sandia National Labs)
4:30696 Fabrication of Electrode Arrays Based on Surface Micromachining - G. Baure, G. Lee, C.J. Kim, and B. Dunn (University of California)
5:00697 Fabrication of Thin-film Microbatteries with Si-based Negative Electrode - S.-J. Lee (Yonsei University), H.-W. Lee, J.-K. Lim, Y.-L. Kim (Kangwon National University), H.-K. Baik (Yonsei University), and S.-M. Lee (Kangwon National University)

Tuesday October 22, 2002


Co-Chair: W.D. Brown

8:30698 Direct-Write Planar Micro-Ultracapacitors by Laser Engineering - C.B. Arnold, R.C. Wartena, K.E. Swider-Lyons, and A. Pique (Naval Research Laboratory)
9:00699 Thin Film Supercapacitor for Hybrid Power Source-on-chip - Y. Huang, E. Wei, and H. Zheng (Chemat Technology Inc.)
9:30700 Supercapacitance of Carbon Nanotube-Conducting Polymer Composites - M. Hughes, G. Chen, M. Shaffer, D. Fray, and A. Windle (University of Cambridge)
10:00 Fifteen-Minute Intermission -
10:15701 Nanoscale Anodic Oxide Layers for New Niobium Capacitors: Electrical and Structural Properties - V. Fischer, A. Weber, A. Kruegel, E. Ivers-Tiffee (University of Karlsruhe), M. Stenzel, and H. Zillgen (EPCOS AG)
10:45702 Electrochemical Supercapacitor Properties of RuO_2-Based Crystalline Material - W. Sugimoto, T. Shibutani, Y. Murakami, and Y. Takasu (Shinshu University)
11:15703 Processing, Microstructure Development, and Electrical Properties of Oxide Layers Anodically Grown on Sintered Pellets of Capacitor Grade Niobium and Vanadium-Doped Niobium Powders - H. Störmer (University of Karlsruhe), C. Schnitter, A. Michaelis (H.C. Starck GmbH and Co. KG.), and D. Gerthsen (University of Karlsruhe)
11:45704 Analytic Modelling and Long Term Measurements of the Electrical Properties of New Niobium Capacitors - V. Fischer, M.J. Heneka, A. Weber, A. Kruegel, E. Ivers-Tiffee (University of Karlsruhe), M. Stenzel, and H. Zillgen (EPCOS AG)

Micro-Fuel Cells

Co-Chair: M.A. Ryan

2:00705 MicroFuel Cells for Portable Electronics - J. Pavio (Motorola)
2:45706 Microfabricated Fuel Cells - J. Wainright, R. Savinell, C.C. Liu, and M. Litt (Case Western Reserve University)
3:15 Fifteen-Minute Intermission -
3:30707 Progress towards an All Thin Film Fuel Cell for Portable Power Generation - J. Hertz, J. Lappalainen, D. Kek, T. Stefanik, and H. Tuller (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
4:00708 A Silicon Microfuelcell with a Porous Silicon Nitride Membrane Electrode Assembly - S.H. Kravitz, C.A. Apblett, C.F. Schmidt, M.H. Beggans, and A.M. Hecht (Sandia National Labs)
4:30709 Lateral Ionic Conduction in Planar Array Fuel Cells - R. O'Hayre, T. Fabian, S.-J.(J. Lee, S.-W. Cha, and F. Prinz (Stanford University)
5:00710 A Miniature Membrane-less Biofuel Cell Operating Under Physiological Conditions - N. Mano and A. Heller (The University of Texas)

Grand Ballrooms B and C, Main Floor, Grand America Hotel

Poster Session

o711 Electrochemical Characterization of LiM_xMn2-xO4 (M=Co,Al,Cu) Thin Films - H.-S. Moon, S.W. Lee (Hanyang University), W. Lee (Sejong University), P.J. Reucroft (University of Kentucky), and J.-W. Park (Hanyang University)
o712 Electrochemical Properties of Microbatteries using Polymer Electrolyte - H.-S. Moon, J.-W. Kim, J.P. Lee, K.L. Lee, and J.-W. Park (Hanyang University)

Wednesday October 23, 2002

Flagstaff Room, Second Floor, Little America Hotel

Micropower Generation and Micropower Systems

Co-Chairs: J. Whitacre and M.A. Ryan

10:00713 Modelling and Measurements of Micro-transformers for Power Conversion - N. Wang, T. O'Donnell, M. Brunet, P. McCloskey, and C. O'Mathuna (National Microelectronics Research Centre)
10:30714 Integrated Micro-Power System (IMPS) Development at NASA Glenn Research Center - D. Wilt (NASA Glenn Research Center), P. Jenkins (The Ohio Aerospace Institute), R. Rafaelle (Rochester Institute of Technology), D. Scheiman (The Ohio Aerospace Institute), A. Hepp, and M. Moran (NASA Glenn Research Center)
11:00715 An Integrated, Solid-State Energy Harvesting and Storage Device: the Power Tile - J. Whitacre, M. Mojarradi, J.-P. Fleurial, T. Johnson, A. Ryan, N. Myung, W. West, S. Nieh (Caltech), and R. Bugga (Front Edge Technology)
11:30716 Development of Micro/Nano Thermoelectric Power Generators using Electrodepostion - J.P. Fleurial, G.J. Snyder, C.K. Huang, J. Herman, M.A. Ryan, N. Myung, and J. Whitacre (California Institute of Technology)