205th Meeting of The Electrochemical Society

May 9-May 14, 2004


L1 - Nanostructured Materials for Energy Conversion

Energy Technology/Battery/Nanotechnology Subcommittee

Tuesday, May 11, 2004

Conference Rooms 3 and 4, Level 3

Co-Chairs: W. van Schalkwijk and J. Prakash

14:00384 Cycling stability of Sn-Cu based Negative Electrodes for Lithium-Ion Batteries - C. Arbizzani, M. Lazzari, and M. Mastragostino (University of Bologna)
14:20385 Preparation of Composite Electrode with Three Dimensionally Ordered Structure for All Solid-state Rechargeable Lithium Battery - K. Kanamura and N. Akutagawa (Tokyo Metropolitan University)
14:40386 Behavior and Characteristics Analysis of a Rechargeable Micro-Scale Lithium Battery for an Intelligent Power Management System - M. Alahmad and H. Hess (University of Idaho)
15:00387 Above IC Microbattery - R. Salot, C. Navone, S. Roche (CEA), and J.-P. Pereira-Ramos (CNRS)
15:20388 Energy Technology Research Award Address: Carbon in Electrochemical Energy Technologies - K. Kinoshita (CTECH Research)
15:40 Twenty-Minute Intermission
16:00389 Application Of Carbon Nanotubes In PEM Fuel Cell Electrodes - H. Ghezel-Ayagh and L. Lipp (FuelCell Energy, Inc.)
16:20390 Particle Size Effects on the Conductivity of Heteropolyacid/Ionomer Composite Membranes for High T/Low RH PEFC Applications - V. Ramani, H. Kunz, and J. Fenton (University of Connecticut)
16:40391 Half-Cell Reactions of Iron, Cobalt, and Manganese Holo-Ferritin on Gold Electrodes - T. Miller, J. Harb, G. Watt, R. Davis, D. Xu, B. Zhang (Brigham Young University), and S. Choi (NASA Langley Research Center)
17:00392 Nanostructured and Functionally Graded Cathodes for Intermediate Temperature Solid Oxide Fuel Cells - Y. Liu, C. Compson, and M. Liu (Georgia Institute of Technology)
17:20393 Synthesis of 3-Dimensional Multi-Scale Porous Electrodes for SOFCs - Y. Zhang, S. Zha, and M. Liu (Georgia Institute of Technology)
17:40394 Composite (Sm, Sr)CoO3 –YSZ Cathode for Solid Oxide Fuel Cells - T. Suzuki, V. Petrovsky, P. Jasinski, and H. Anderson (EMARC, University of Missouri-Rolla)

Salons E and F, Level 3

Poster Session

Co-Chairs: W. van Schalkwijk and J. Prakash

o395 The Photoelectro-catalytic Property of a TiO2 Photoelectrode Prepared Using Reactive Sputtering - Y.-F. Su and T.-C. Chou (National Cheng Kung University)
o396 Electrochemical Characterization of Nanostructured Photocatalysts for Hydrogen Production - T.-V. Nguyen, D.-J. Choi, and O.-B. Yang (Chonbuk National University)
o397 Effect of Heat Treatment on Material Characteristics and Pseudo-Capacitive Properties of the Nanostructured Manganese Oxide Prepared by Anodic Deposition - J.-K. Chang and W.-T. Tsai (National Cheng Kung University)
o398 Enhanced Light Absorption using Porous Silicon Layer by Electrochemical Anodization - J.H. Kwon, D.S. Kim, and S.H. Lee (University of Sejong)

Wednesday, May 12, 2004

Conference Rooms 3 and 4, Level 3

Co-Chairs: W. van Schalkwijk and J. Prakash

14:00399 Some Studies on Electrodeposition and Characterization of Nanocrystalline TiO2 Thin Films - O.S. Joo, C. Lokhande, E.H. Lee, and K.D. Jung (Korea Institute Science and Technology)
14:20400 Formation of 2D TiO2 Nanowires with Single Crystal and Application for Dye-Sensitized Solar Cell - Y. Murata, J. Takao, M. Sakamoto, J. Jiu, and M. Adachi (Kyoto University)
14:40401 Improved Performance of Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells With Buffer Layers Between Transparent Conductive Layer and Porous TiO2 Layer - K.-S. Ahn, W.-S. Lee, J.-M. Choi, B.-C. Shin, J.-W. Park, and J.-W. Lee (Samsung SDI Co., LTD)
15:00402 ZnO/CdSe/CuSCN Inorganic ETA -Solar Cells Based on a Nanocolumnar ZnO Film - M. Ryan (Jet Propulsion Laboratory), C. Levy-Clement (LCMTR, Institut des Sciences Chimiques Seine Amont), R. Tena-Zaera (Dpt. Física Aplicada), A. Katty, S. Bastide (LCMTR, Institut des Sciences Chimiques Seine Amont), G. Hodes (Dept. of Materials and Interfaces), and C. Vard (LCMTR, Institut des Sciences Chimiques Seine Amont)
15:20403 Characterization and Nanoscale Analysis of Electrodeposited CuInSe2 on Flexible Polymer for Applications in Thin film Solar Cells - H.-H. Chen, P.N. Kalu (FAMU-FSU), A. Shaba, and E.E. Kalu (FAMU-FSU College of Engineering)
15:40 Twenty-Minute Intermission
16:00404 Effect of Nanostructures on Polymer Electrode Fuel Cell Performance - C. Karuppaiah, R. Subbaraman, F. Costello, and T. Zawodzinski (Case Western Reserve University)
16:20405 Heteropolyacid/ Sulfonated PEKK Composite Membranes for PEFC and DMFC Applications - V. Ramani, S. Swier, R. Weiss, M. Shaw, H. Kunz, and J. Fenton (University of Connecticut)
16:40406 Performance Improvement of La1-xSrxCo1-yFeyO3 (LSCF) Cathode Formed from Sol-Gel Method - J. Liu, S. Paulson, and V. Birss (University of Calgary)
17:00407 An Impedance Study of Porous LSCO Electrodes Fabricated with Pulsed Laser Deposition - X. Chen, J. Li, N. Wu, and A. Ignatiev (University of Houston)

Thursday, May 13, 2004

Co-Chairs: W. van Schalkwijk and J. Prakash

08:00408 Synthesis and Characterization of H2 Fuel Cell Electrocatalysts with Optimized Cluster Size - W. Steen, E. Coker, M. Kelly, I. Abraham, and J. Miller (Sandia National Laboratories)
08:20409 Preparation and Application of Nano-Sized PtRu Catalysts of Controlled Size and Composition - C. Bock, C. Paquet, and B. MacDougall (National Research Council of Canada)
08:40410 Oxidation of Methanol on Platinum Nanoparticles Dispersed on Oxides - H.M. Villullas, F. Mattos-Costa, and L. Bulhões (Departamento de Química, UFSCar)
09:00411 Hydrogen Oxidation And Methanol Oxidation At The Mesoporous Platinum/Solid Polymer Electrolyte Interface - A. Kucernak (Imperial College London)
09:20412 Layered Composition of Catalytic Nanoparticles by Electrochemical NMR - A. Wieckowski, P.K. Babu, H.S. Kim, and E. Oldfield (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
09:40 Twenty-Minute Intermission
10:00413 Carbon Supports for Electrodeposited Pt-Ru Catalysts - M. Mastragostino, A. Missiroli, and F. Soavi (University of Bologna)
10:20414 Adsorbed Methanol Residues Stripping Analysis at Carbon Supported Pt and Pt-Ru Catalysts Employed in DMFCs - V. Baglio, A.S. Arico, E. Modica, G. Monforte (CNR-ITAE), P.L. Antonucci (University of Reggio Calabria), and V. Antonucci (CNR-ITAE)
10:40415 Mesoporous Carbons with Controlled Porosity as an Electrocatalyst Support for Fuel Cells - R. Vadari and A. Manthiram (University of Texas at Austin)
11:00416 Methanol Tolerant Pt/TiOx Nanocomposite Cathodes for Direct Methanol Fuel Cells - L. Xiong and A. Manthiram (Materials Science & Engineering, ETC 9.148)
11:20417 Electrodeposition of Pt-Ru Nanoparticles on High Oriented Pyrolytic Graphite (HOPG) and Their Electrocatalytic Characterization - G. Lu (University of Alabama) and G. Zangari (University of Virginia)
11:40418 Structural and Electronic properties of Carbon nanohorn aggregates probed by 13C-NMR - H. Imai (NEC Corporation), P. Babu, E. Oldfield, A. Wieckowski (University of Illinois), D. Kasuya, T. Azami, Y. Shimakawa, M. Yudasaka, Y. Kubo, and S. Iijima (NEC Corporation)