2004 Joint International Meeting

October 3-October 8, 2004


O1 - Electrochemistry in New Forms of Carbon

Energy Technology

Tuesday, October 5, 2004

Sea Pearl 3 & 4, Level 6, Mid Pacific Conference Center

Co-Chairs: Z. Ogumi and K. Zaghib

14:001449 Carbon for Batteries and Fuel Cell - K. Zaghib (Institut de Recherche d’Hydro-Québec,) and K. Kinoshita (Ctech Research)
14:201450 Nitrogen-Doped Carbon Supports For PEM Fuel Cell Fe-Based Electrocatalysts - D. Villers and J.-P. Dodelet (INRS énergie, matériaux et télécommunications)
14:401451 Electrochemical properties of Nitrogen-enriched Carbon Aerogels - H. Hatori, T. Matsuoka, J. Yamashita, Y. Soneda, M. Kodama (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology), and N. Miyajima (University of Yamanashi)
15:001452 Enhanced Reactivity of Nitrogen Doped Carbon Nanofibers for Dioxygen Reduction - S. Maldonado and K. Stevenson (University of Texas at Austin)
15:201453 Structural and Electrochemical Properties of Nitrogen-enriched Mesoporous Carbon - M. Kodama, D. Hulicova, J. Yamashita, Y. Soneda, H. Hatori, K. Kamegawa (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology), and N. Miyajima (University of Yamanashi)
15:401454 New Electrode Materials for Neurological Solutes: Nanocrystalline Graphite and Carbon Nanopipettes - R. Mani, M. Sunkara, and R. Baldwin (University of Louisville)
16:001455 Characterization and Application of Ultra-Flat Carbon Film Electrodes Prepared by Electron Beam Deposition - M. McDermott, A. Rostami, S. Aaron, and B. Jason (University of Alberta)
16:201456 Anodically Generated Short-Lived Species on Boron Doped Diamond Film Electrodes - J. Farrell (University of Arizona), P. Natishan (Naval Research Laboratory), F. Martin (Geo-Centers, Inc.), H. Martin (Case Western Reserve University), and W. O'Grady (Naval Research Laboratory)
16:401457 Electrochemical Characterisation of a Nanoporous Carbon after Negative Polarisation by means of a Single Particle Microelectrode Technique - M. Zuleta, P. Björnbom, and A. Lundblad (Royal Institute of Technology)
17:001458 Direct Conversion of Chemically De-Ashed Coal in Fuel Cells - J. Cooper (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory) and R. Wolk (Wolk Integrated Technical Services)

Coral Lounge, Level 6, Mid Pacific Conference Center

Tuesday Evening Poster Session and Technical Exhibit

Co-Chairs: K. Zaghib and J. Prakash

o1459 Capacitive Deionization Characteristics of Nanostructured Carbon Aerogel Electrodes - S.W. Hwang, H.H. Jung, S.H. Hyun (Yonsei University), K.H. Lee (Dandan co., LTD.), and G.T. Kim (NANO PORE MATERIALS CO., LTD)
o1460 Preliminary Study for Development of Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells by using Functionalized Carbon Clusters - T. Hino, Y. Ogawa, and N. Kuramoto (Yamagata University)
o1461 Material and Electrochemical Properties of Pyrolyzed Parylene-C - S. Miserendino, S. Boland, and Y.-C. Tai (California Institute of Technology)