ECS Logo
ECS Home Page ECS Members Education Awards Students Sponsorship Publications Meetings
Digital Library Home
ECS Journal
ECS Letters
ECS Transactions
ECS Meeting Abstracts
ECS Interface
ECS History Center
Manuscript Submissions
ECS Bookstore
Subscription Info
Copyright Requests
ECS Member Info
Support the Future
Renew Now
Join Now
Career Center
Technical Interest Areas and Divisions
Governance and Committees
Resource Links



National Capital Section

Awards Banquet Meeting

6 May 2003, Eisenhower Metro Center Holiday Inn, Alexandria, VA

Forty members and guests of the National Capital Section met this past month for the annual Awards Night Banquet. The occasion celebrates both past achievements and future aspirations. Dr. Edward McCafferty, guest of honor and speaker for the night, received the 2003 Foley Award. For the future, the Section looks to the students like those awarded at the Banquet for their Spring Science Fair achievements by the Section judges who volunteered their time by taking part in this year’s Science Fair program.

The Robert T. Foley Award of the National Capital Section of the Electrochemical Society is presented in recognition of individuals who have made important contributions to the science or technology of electrochemistry through excellence in teaching or administration of electrochemical or solid state technology, or through service to The Electrochemical Society at the local or national level. The award is directed towards a member who resides within the area of the National Capital Section of the Electrochemical Society.

The award is named after Robert T. Foley who trained numerous students in corrosion and electrochemistry during his tenure as a Professor of Chemistry at American University. The award is presented at intervals of not less than two years.

Past Award Winners:
2001    R.G. Kelly
1999    J. Kruger
1997    P.M. Natishan
1995    P.J. Moran;
1993    G.E. Stoner
1991    W.J. Hamer
1989    R.T. Foley

Dr. Edward McCafferty talk for the evening was entitled, “Zen and the Art of Corrosion Science”

Dr. McCafferty discussed very briefly two examples of his research. He also helped his audience to consider the enjoyment of being a scientist, the allure of corrosion science, science and the liberal arts, and forays into teaching. Research examples involved (1) corrosion resistant surface alloys prepared by laser processing, and (2) graph theory and the passivity of binary alloys. The first was an experimental study and the second a theoretical study. Without going into great detail, his talk was amusing and inspiring, but also technically informative.

Dr. Edward McCafferty is a research chemist in the Chemistry Division of the Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, D.C. He received his B. S. in Chemistry from Wilkes College and his M. S. and Ph. D. in Chemistry from Lehigh University. Ed also holds an M. S. in Applied Mathematics from Johns Hopkins University and he spent the 1996-1997 year as a visiting scientist in the Department of Chemistry and the Center for Adhesive and Sealant Science at Virginia Tech University. His research interests are in corrosion science and surface chemistry. He has authored or co-authored of over 100 publications which have been cited almost 1,900 times. Ed is a Fellow of The Electrochemical Society and has received the Victor K. LaMer Award of the American Chemical Society, the NRL Sigma Xi Award in Pure Science, the William Blum Award of the National Capital Section of the Electrochemical Society and has been selected as the recipient of the 2003 Jerome Kruger Award of the Baltimore/Washington Section of NACE International.

This year’s Science Fair Judges were: Guy Davis, Rengaswamy "Srini" Srinivasan, David Shifler, Maggie Teliska, Steve Lawrence, Science Fair Chair for 03.  The First Prize winners they selected were:

David Germain
Winston Churchill High
Enhancing the Magnetocaloric Effect of Superparamagnetic Nanocomposites for Magnetic Refrigeration

Sicong ("Silvia") Hou
Richard Montgomery High
Milestone in Fabricating Homogeneously Sized Zinc-Oxide Semiconductor Nanoparticles

Tyler Hockman
Middletown High
DNA Methylation Change in Sperm DNA as a Result of Chromium(III) Exposure:  Possible Role in transgenerational Carcinogenesis

Mitali Thakor
River Hill High
Nanowires as Tool for Myocite Manipulation

Wen Wang
Mt. Hebron High
Electrodeposition of Cobalt Nanowires:  Fabrication of Substrates for Carbon Nanotubes 

Alhaji Cherif
Parkdale High
Electrogalvanic Cell Method Development

Jared Kobulnicky
Potomac High
The Effect of Various pH Solutions Representing Bodily Fluids on the Permeability (of Protective Gloves)

Congratulations to all



Home | ECS Members | Education | Awards | Students | Sponsorship | Publications | Meetings

About | Contact | Privacy Policy | Site Map

© 2006 The Electrochemical Society; all rights reserved.



About ECS | Contact ECS