ECS Logo
Home ECS Members Education Awards Students Sponsorship Publications Meetings
ECS Membership
Short Courses
Professional Development Workshops
Students Center
Career Center
ECS Member Info
Renew Membership Now
Career Center
Technical Interest Areas and Divisions
Student Chapters
Governance and Committees
Press Room
Advertising Opportunities
Get Free Newsletter
ECS Redcat Blog
Knowledge Base


ECS Short Courses

Cancun, Mexico | Sunday, October 5, 2014

Short Course #2
Polymer Electrolyte Fuel Cells
Hubert Gasteiger and Thomas Schmidt, Instructors

Please visit the Cancun meeting page for registration information. Early-Bird Registration rates are in effect until September 5, 2014. See a list of all Short courses offered at the Cancun meeting.

This Short Course develops the fundamental thermodynamics and electrocatalytic processes critical to polymer electrolyte fuel cells (PEFCs, including Direct Methanol and Alkaline Membrane FCs). In the first part, we will discuss the relevant half-cell reactions, their thermodynamic driving forces, and their mathematical foundations in electrocatalysis theory (e.g., Butler-Volmer equations). Subsequently, this theoretical framework will be applied to catalyst characterization and the evaluation of kinetic parameters like activation energies, exchange current densities, reaction orders, etc.

In the second part of the course, we will illuminate the different functional requirements of actual PEFC (incl. DMFC and AMFC) components and present basic in situ diagnostics (Pt surface area, shorting, H2 crossover, electronic resistance, etc.). This will be used to develop an in-depth understanding of the various voltage loss terms that constitute a polarization curve. Finally, we will apply this learning to describe the principles of fuel cell catalyst activity measurements, the impact of uncontrolled-operation events (e.g., cell reversal), and the various effects of long-term materials degradation.

To benefit most effectively from this course, registrants should have completed at least their first two years of a bachelor’s program in physics, chemistry, or engineering; or have several years of experience with PEFCs.

About the Instructors

Hubert A. Gasteiger received his MS in chemical engineering from Oregon State University in 1988, and his PhD in chemical engineering from UC Berkeley in 1993 (with Elton Cairns). After postdoctoral positions at the Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory with Phil Ross and Nenad Markovic and at Ulm University (with Jürgen Behm), he joined GM/Opel’s Fuel Cell Activities program (Honeoye Falls, NY, USA) as Technical Manager for PEM fuel cell materials development (1998-2007), where he was promoted to GM Technical Fellow (2004). Subsequently, he worked for one year as Director of Catalyst Technologies at Acta S.p.A. (Italy). In 2009 he was appointed Visiting Professor at MIT in the group of Yang Shao-Horn, working on lithium-air batteries and fuel cell electrocatalysis. Since 2010 he is Full Professor at the Technische Universität München, focusing on materials and electrode development for batteries and fuel cells.

Prof. Gasteiger has co-authored 85 peer-reviewed publications, 15 book chapters, and 31 patents/patent applications. He also served as Editor-In-Chief for Wiley’s Handbook of Fuel Cells (vols. 1 4 in 2003 & vols. 5&6 in 2009) and currently leads the ECS Fuel Cell Subcommittee. In 2004, he received the Klaus-Jürgen Vetter Award from the International Society of Electrochemistry, became a Fellow of the ECS in 2011, and received the Grove Medal for fuel cell research in 2012.

Thomas J. Schmidt obtained his PhD (2000) in Chemistry from the University of Ulm (Germany, with J. Behm), before he joined the group of P. N. Ross and N. Markovic at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. He continued to work with G. G. Scherer at Paul Scherrer Institut’s Electrochemistry Laboratory in Villigen/Switzerland. Since the fall of 2002, he has been working in the industrial development of high temperature membrane electrode assemblies and their components. During these eight years in industry, Dr. Schmidt led the high-temperature MEA R&D activities as Director of R&D. At the same time he was working as Lecturer for Physical Chemistry at Provadis School of International Management and Technology in Frankfurt/Germany.

In February 2011, Dr. Schmidt became a Full Professor and Chair of Electrochemistry at ETH Zurich and Head of the Electrochemistry Laboratory at Paul Scherrer Institute, Villigen, Switzerland. Since 2014, he is also Director of the Swiss Competence Center for Energy Research (SCCER Heat & Electricity Storage). Dr. Schmidt is the 2010 ECS Charles W. Tobias Young Investigator Award recipient. He was awarded the Otto Monsted Guest Professorship of the Energy Conversion and Storage Department at the Technical University of Denmark (2013). Currently, he also acts as Associate Editor of the ECS Journals.

For additional information about Education, please contact: education


Home | ECS Members | Education | Awards | Students | Sponsorship | Publications | Meetings

About | Contact | Social Media | Privacy Policy | Browser Info

© The Electrochemical Society, all rights reserved.




About ECS | Contact ECS