SECTION NEWS

Israel

The annual meeting of the Section was held on June 16 at Bar-Ilan University. The meeting, organized by Prof. D. Aurbach, Section chairman, drew an audience of about 100 participants representing academic institutions, industries, and companies. This year's meeting was dedicated to the memory of Dr. Baruch Zinger, a fellow electrochemist who was killed in a terrorist attack on December 2, 2001. The meeting opened with two addresses in memory of Dr. Zinger, delivered by Prof. D. Aurbach (Bar-Ilan University) and Prof. I. Rubinstein (Weizmann Institute). It was followed by a full scientific program, starting with a keynote lecture given by this year's guest of honor, Prof. L. L. Miller of the University of Minnesota, who talked about "Redox Chemistry of Oligothiophenes in Solution and in Devices." The morning session continued with five invited talks delivered by Prof. E. Gileadi (Tel-Aviv University), Dr. Y. Ein-Eli (Technion, Haifa), Prof. J. Becker (Ben-Gurion University, Beer-Sheva), Prof. I. Willner (Hebrew University, Jerusalem), and Prof. R. Tenne (Weizmann Institute, Rehovot). The lunch break was combined with a poster session. The afternoon session included twelve short talks given by graduate students and postdoctoral fellows. The event ended with a ceremony, where prizes donated by the Zinger family were presented to two students who won awards for the best short talk and poster presentation. The meeting was a continuation of what has become a tradition of highly successful gatherings and the central event of the electrochemical community in Israel.

Section Services

The Society headquarters offers a number of different services to Sections upon request. These include: blank award certificates for use at Section fairs and contests, and past chairman pins for retiring Section chairmen. Also available are copies of the Council of Sections Handbook, which includes the Section Reporting Guidelines and a directory of Officers for other services. For more information, contact Ellen Tiano at Society headquarters, tel: 609.737.1902. ext. 111.

Canadian and Pacific Northwest Sections



Gabrielle Hager (left) receives an award for the best student poster from ECS Canadian Secion vice-chairman, Elena Babes-Dornea.



SANDRA RIFAI (left) accepts a Student Travel Grant from ECS Canadian Chairman CHRISTINA BOCK.

A spring 2002 symposium, entitled "When East Meets West," was held in the National Research Council Innovation Centre in Vancouver, British Columbia. The event was organized jointly by the Canadian and Pacific Northwest Sections and attracted up to 60 people. Dr. Marc Porter from Iowa State University, AMES, presented the invited lecture entitled: "Investigations of the Structural Dependance of Gold-Bound Alkanethiolate Monolayers on Chain Length and the Evolution of Barrier Strength to Electron Transfer." Eight speakers from across Canada also participated in the event.

A poster session followed the oral presentations. During the wine and cheese reception, a \$100 award (Canadian) for the best student poster was given to Gabrielle Hager (University of Victoria) and two \$50 (Canadian) awards were given to Aaron C. Anderson (University of Victoria) and Robin Stoodley (University of British Columbia). Two student travel grants of \$100 (Canadian) were also given to Sandra Rifai (Université du Québec à Montréal) and Sylvain Bolduc (Queen's University) who presented a poster at the meeting. Both Sections supported the travel grants.



For the latest details on all ECS Sections, be sure to visit the website at:

www.electrochem.org/sections/sections.htm