STUDENT NEWS





2002 Student Research Award of the Battery Division

Linda Fransson completed her MS degree in chemistry at Uppsala University in 1997. She is currently a graduate student in the Dept. of Materials Chemistry of Uppsala University where she is under the supervision of Dr. Kristina Edstrom and Professor John O. Thomas. She will graduate in September of 2002.

Frannson has worked on the intermetallic anode materials for lithium ion batteries under the supervision of Dr. Michael M. Thackray and Dr. John T. Vaughev at

Argonne National Laboratory. The focus was placed on structural transformations in lithiated intermetallic anodes, studied by in situ XRD. The experiments were performed both at Uppsala University and Argonne National Laboratory.





2002 Morris Cohen Graduate Student Award of the Corrosion Division

Kevin R. Cooper graduated summa cum laude with a Bachelor of Applied Science degree in metals and materials engineering from the University of British Columbia in 1992. Cooper was first exposed to the field of corrosion science during his summer engineering internships at McMillan Bloedel Research and the Pulp and Paper Research Institute of Canada in Vancouver, BC. After completing his undergraduate degree, Cooper worked at the Noranda Technology Centre in Pointe Claire, Quebec, on

localized corrosion of stainless steel and nickel-based alloys. He received his MS degree from the University of Virginia in 1996, and his PhD in 2001, where he focused on localized corrosion and environmental cracking of high strength aluminum alloys. Cooper is currently a senior corrosion scientist with Luna Innovations, Inc. He has numerous publications in the area of corrosion, stress corrosion cracking, and fiber optic sensors. He joined The Electrochemical Society in 1998 and is treasurer of the ECS National Capital Section for 2002-2003.

Student News Wanted

ECS takes an active interest in the affairs of its Student Members, and we are always interested in hearing from you about your interests, activities, and accomplishments.

Send all correspondence to:

Interface 65 South Main Street Pennington, NJ 08534-2839, USA Tel: 609.737.1902 • Fax: 609.737.2743 • E-mail: interface@electrochem.org

Call for Nominations



Morris Cohen Graduate Student Award

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2003 Morris Cohen Graduate Student Award of the Corrosion Division. Named in honor of the late Dr. Morris Cohen, a renowned expert in the field of electrochemistry and corrosion science, this award was established in 1992 to recognize and reward outstanding graduate research in the field of corrosion science and/or engineering. Such early recognition of qualified highly corrosion scientists/engineers is intended to encourage especially promising researchers to remain active in the field after their graduate research is completed.

This award, for outstanding master's or PhD work, is open to graduate students who have successfully completed all the requirements for their degrees. Candidates remain eligible for two years, and those eligible for the 2003 award must have completed all requirements for their degree between January 1, 2001 and December 31, 2002. The successful candidate is expected to present a lecture on his or her research work at a Corrosion Division symposium held at the fall 2003 meeting of the Society in Orlando, Florida. The award consists of a certificate plus \$1,000. Assistance for unreimbursed travel expenses, up to an additional \$1,000, can also be provided for travel expenses incurred in attending the Society meeting at which the award is presented.

Further information about this award may be obtained directly from the chairman of the award committee: Scott Lillard, Materials Corrosion and Environmental Effects Lab, Materials Science and Technology Division, MST-6, MSG 755, Los Alamos National Lab, Los Alamos, NM 87545, USA, tel: 505.667.6325, fax: 505.667.2264, email:lillard@lanl.gov. Nominations for the 2003 award must be received by the award committee chairman no later than December 15, 2002.

2002 Summer Fellowship Award Subcommittee

Robin McCarley, Chairman Louisiana State University

John Bruce Green University of Alberta

Mary Beth Williams
Pennsylvania State University

Radha Pyati University of Colorado Colorado Springs

Frank Zamborini University of Louisville

The 2002 Fellowship Award reports will appear in a future issue of Interface.

For more information, please visit the website at www.electrochem.org.

The Electrochemical Society ES Awarded Membership Application

The Divisions of the Society are offering Awarded Student Memberships to qualified full-time students. Eligible students must be in their final two years as undergraduates or be enrolled in a graduate program in science, engineering, or education (with a science or engineering degree). Awarded memberships are renewable for up to four years; applicants must reapply each year. Memberships include subscriptions to the Journal online, Letters online, and Interface. Name: _ Home Address: Date of Birth:_____ School, Division, and Department: _____ School Address: Undergraduate Year (U) or Graduate Year (G) - circle one: U3 U4 G1 G2 G3 G4 G5 _____ Grade point average _____ out of possible _____ Have you won this award before? - circle one: Yes No If yes, how many times?_____ Signature of Student:____ _____ Date:____ Faculty member attesting to eligibility of student: Name: ______ Department: _____ Signature: Date: Divisions (please choose one): □ Battery ☐ Energy Technology ☐ Luminescence & Display Materials ☐ Fullerenes, Nanotubes, and ☐ Organic & Biological □ Corrosion ☐ Dielectric Science & Technology Carbon Nanostructures Electrochemistry □ Electrodeposition ☐ High Temperature Materials
☐ Industrial Electrolysis & ☐ Physical Electrochemistry ☐ Industrial Electrolysis & □ Electronics □ Sensor **Electrochemical Engineering** Send to: The Electrochemical Society, 65 South Main Street, Pennington, NJ 08534-2839, USA • Tel: 609.737.1902 • Fax: 609.737.2743