ECS SUMMER FELLOWSHIP WINNERS

Each year The Electrochemical Society gives up to four Summer Research Fellowships to assist students in continuing their graduate work during the summer months in a field of interest to the Society. The 2003 Summer Fellowship recipients are:



The recipient of the Society's Edward G. Weston Summer Research Fellowship, JANINE MAUZEROLL, received her early education at "l'École Secondaire St-Joseph" in Hull and attended Brébeuf College for the International Baccalaureate (IB) in sciences. Her undergraduate work in chemistry was done at McGill University (BSc 1999). Her

honors thesis work was done under the guidence Prof. R. B. Lennox.

In August 1999, Mauzeroll joined Prof. Allen J. Bard's group at the University of Texas at Austin where she is currently finishing her graduate work. She is the recipient of the University of Texas at Austin's Continuing Fellowship (2003-2004).

Mauzeroll's research interests have been in the application of scanning electrochemical microscopy to kinetic studies of channel and cellular transport processes.



The recipient of the Society's Colin Garfield Fink Summer Research Fellowship, MARIO ALPUCHE-AVILÉS, received his bachelors' degree in industrial chemical engineering from the Universidad Autónoma de Yucatán, Mexico, and did his undergraduate thesis under Daniel Mena-Romero in 1998. His undergraduate research included

work at the Center for Investigation and Advanced Studies (CINVESTAV-IPN) in Mérida, Yucatán, with Professor Lucien P. Véleva in atmospheric corrosion.

2003

Summer Fellowship Award Subcommittee

Mark Anderson Virginia Tech University

Hal Van Ryswyk Harvey-Mudd College

Larry Bottomley Georgia Institute of Technology

Bruce Parkinson Colorado State University

> Eric Bakker Auburn University

Nic Glumac University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

The 2003 Fellowship Award reports will appear in a future issue of Interface.

For more information, please visit the website at www.electrochem.org.

Avilés came to Mississippi State University in 1999 and joined Professor David Wipf's group in the department of chemistry. He is currently a PhD candidate in analytical chemistry and has been working on the development of instrumentation for the scanning electrochemical microscope (SECM). The main goal of his research is to develop constant-distance methods for SECM. His group has worked with shear-force methods and developed impedance-mode SECM. They have also been working in anodic stripping voltammetry (ASV) combined with SECM to map metal ions traditionally detected with ASV. The group aims to combine constant distance SECM with cyclic voltammetry and with ASV to collect additional valuable information about the sample of interest.

The group also worked in collaboration with Dr. Lucien Veleva (CINVESTAV-IPN, Mérida) to study corrosion resistance of stainless steel in concrete simulating solutions. Finally, the group is interested in the use of constant distance-SECM and ASV-SECM to study localized corrosion on metal alloys.



The recipient of the Society's Joseph W. Richards Summer Research Fellowship, **PREMANAND RAMADASS**, received his Bachelor of Technology degree in chemical and electrochemical engineering from Central Electrochemical Research Institute, (Madurai Kamaraj University), India in 1999. Currently he is a student at the

University of South Carolina pursuing a PhD in chemical engineering under the supervision of Dr. Ralph E. White and Dr. Branko N. Popov. His research interests include investigation of the capacity fade mechanisms in commercially available Li-ion batteries, development of semi-empirical and first principles based capacity fade models for predicting the cycle life and calendar life of Li-ion batteries.



The recipient of the Society's F. M. Becket Summer Research Fellowship, EMILY CLARK, received a BS in chemistry with a concentration in applied mathematics from Davidson College (Davidson, NC) in 2001. Her undergraduate research included an REU position at Mississippi State University with Dr. Charles S. Henry. The

research involved the analysis of renal markers in urine using capillary electrophoresis. She is currently a PhD candidate at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, where she is working under the direction of Dr. Ingrid Fritsch. Her graduate research involves the use of redox-based magnetohydrodynamics in microfluidic devices.

ECS Summer Research Fellowships—Call for Nominations

The Electrochemical Society is currently soliciting applications for the 2004 Society Summer Fellowships. The Fellowships are given each year to assist a student in continuing his/her graduate work during the summer months in a field of interest to the Society. Each year the Society gives up to four such fellowships, worth \$4,000 each.

In order to be eligible for a Summer Fellowship, the individual must be a graduate student pursuing work between the degree of BS and PhD, in a college or university, who will continue his or her studies after the summer period. A previous holder of a Summer Fellowship is eligible for reappointment.

Qualified graduate students are invited to apply for these fellowships. Applicants must complete an application form and supply the following information: (1) a brief statement of educational objectives; (2) a brief statement of the thesis research problem, including objectives, work already accomplished, and work planned for the summer of 2004; (3) a transcript of undergraduate and graduate academic work; and (4) two letters of recommendation, one of which should be from the applicant's research advisor.

As it is the spirit of these awards that they be the sole sponsor of the summer graduate work, successful recipients of a fellowship must agree not to hold other appointments or other fellowships during the summer of 2004.

Application forms are available from the chairman of the Fellowship Award Subcommittee, to whom completed applications and letters of recommendation should be sent: R. McCarley, Department of Chemistry, Choppin Laboratories of Chemistry, Louisana State University, Baton Rouge, LA 70803, USA, tel: 225.388.3239, fax: 225.388.3458, e-mail: tunnel@lsu.edu.

The deadline for receipt of completed applications is January 1, 2004. Award winners will be announced on April 1, 2004.