ECS SUMMER FELLOWSHIP WINNERS

Each year The Electrochemical Society gives up to four Summer Fellowships to assist students in continuing their graduate work during the summer months in a field of interest to the Society. The 2004 Summer Fellowship recipients are as follows.



Amos Mugweru, the Colin Garfield Fink Fellowship recipient, received his BSc with first class honors in chemistry from Kenyatta University in 1993 and an MSc from the University of Nairobi in Kenya in 1997. He taught general courses at Jommokenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology for

two years before joining Professor Rusling's group in 1999 at the University of Connecticut in Storrs where he is currently pursuing a PhD degree in analytical chemistry.

His work involves development of biosensors for chemical toxicity and oxidative stress. These biosensors detect DNA damage from chemicals or their metabolites. He helped develop layered films of proteins, polymers, and DNA, one layer at a time (layer-by-layer self-assembly), resulting in precise control of film architecture and nanoscale control of thickness. These films have been used to catalyze metabolic enzyme reactions to produce DNA-damaging products mimicking an important process in human liver where relatively non-harmful organic molecules are converted to carcinogenic metabolites by enzymes such as cytochrome P450s. These biosensors contain DNA in the same film, and DNA damage is detected by catalytic voltammetry.

2004 Summer Fellowship Award Subcommittee

Robin L. McCarley Louisiana State University

John Stickney University of Georgia

Daniel Feldheim North Carolina State University

> Jay Switzer University of Missouri

Adrian Michael University of Pittsburgh

David Wipf Mississippi State University

> Paul Bohn University of Illinois

The 2004 Fellowship Award reports will appear in a future issue of Interface.

For more information, please visit the website at www.electrochem.org.



Jesse Seegmiller, the Edward G. Weston Fellowship recipient, received his bachelor's degree from the University of Minnesota, Duluth in 2000. His undergraduate research was conducted under Dr. John Evans at the University of Minnesota, Duluth. He was awarded two undergraduate fel-

lowships along with the Casmir Illenda award for outstanding undergraduate research. Currently, he is a PhD candidate at the University of Wyoming under the direction of Dr. Daniel A. Buttry. His thesis research involves the electrochemical investigation of corrosion on high strength aluminum alloys. The scope of his project has focused primarily on the cathodic behavior of intermetallic particles and exploring new corrosion inhibition schemes.



JOSEPH B. CARROLL, the Joseph W. Richards Fellowship receipient, was born in Natick, Massachusetts in 1978. He graduated cum laude with a BS degree in chemistry from Merrimack College in May 2000. He then began graduate work in organic chemistry at the University of Massachu-

setts-Amherst in September 2000. Joseph is currently a PhD candidate in the chemistry program at UMass-Amherst under the direction of Professor Vincent M. Rotello. His current research interests include the study of redox-modulated molecular recognition and the application of these electrochemically controllable interactions in solution and the solid state.



Fengjun Deng, recipient of the F. M. Beckett Summer Fellowship award, graduated from JiLi University in China with a BSc degree in 1988. He then worked as an engineer for Songliao Water Basin Water Resources Protection Bureau until 2001. Since then he has been a PhD student in the

department of chemistry at Southern Illinois University Carbondale. His advisor is Professor Shaowei Chen.

ECS Summer Fellowships—Call for Nominations

The Electrochemical Society is currently soliciting applications for the 2005 Society Summer Fellowships. The Fellowships are given each year to assist a student in continuing his/her graduate work during the summer months in a field of interest to the Society. Each year the Society gives up to four such fellowships, worth \$4,000 each.

In order to be eligible for a Summer Fellowship, the individual must be a graduate student pursuing work between the degree of BS and PhD, in a college or university, who will continue his or her studies after the summer period. A previous holder of a Summer Fellowship is eligible for reappointment.

Qualified graduate students are invited to apply for these fellowships. Applicants must complete an application form and supply the following information: (1) a brief statement of educational objectives; (2) a brief statement of the thesis research problem, including objectives, work already accomplished, and work planned for the summer of 2005; (3) a transcript of undergraduate and graduate academic work; and (4) two letters of recommendation, one of which should be from the applicant's research advisor.

As it is the spirit of these awards that they be the sole sponsor of the summer graduate work, successful recipients of a fellowship must agree not to hold other appointments or other fellowships during the summer of 2005.

Application forms are available from the chairman of the Fellowship Award Subcommittee, to whom completed applications and letters of recommendation should be sent: R. McCarley, Department of Chemistry, Choppin Laboratories of Chemistry, Louisana State University, Baton Rouge, LA 70803, USA; tel. 225.388.3239, fax 225.388.3458, e-mail tunnel@lsu.edu.

The deadline for receipt of completed applications is January 1, 2005. Award winners will be announced on April 1, 2005.