SOCIETY NEWS



Keri Ahern Joins ECS Staff

Keri Ahern joined the staff this past June as a Marketing and Development Assistant for Publications. Keri will assist in the development, marketing, and administration of the Society's Proceedings Volume Series and in the marketing and development of other ECS publications, such as the technical journals, monographs, and the Meeting Abstracts volumes.

Keri graduated from Richard Stockton College of New Jersey in 1995 with a BA in marketing. She started her career in the Princeton, New Jersey area with a market research company, performing statistical analysis for market research surveys. Most recently employed by a medical publisher in southern New Jersey, Keri was responsible for marketing their professional book line.

"We're looking forward to having Keri help us promote the proceedings volumes and to extend the recognition of all ECS's excellent publications," said Mary Yess, ECS Director of Publications. "Keri has joined at an opportune moment, just in time to handle the many volumes that will be published as a result of the joint international meeting in Hawaii." Please join us in welcoming Keri to the Society staff.

Welcome to New ECS Affiliate

The Society welcomed a new Sustaining Member to the Contributing Membership program, a part of ECS Affiliates. **Shipley Company** is a leading global manufacturer of chemicals for the electronics industry. Its Shipley Ronal division supplies a wide range of products utilized in the fabrication of printed wiring boards, as well as metallizing technologies for the manufacture of semiconductors, connectors, and general industrial finishing applications. The Shipley Microelectronic division supplies photoresists, developers, electrodeposited copper, and antireflective coatings utilized in the manufacture of integrated circuits. The ECS Affiliates program allows Affiliates to take advantage of new opportunities of special advertising and exhibiting offers. Learn more about the program at: http://www.electrochem.org/affiliates. html, or call Barbara Baggott, ECS Affiliates Coordinator at 609.737.1902, ext.15.

In Memoriam

Konstantin Ledjeff (1948-1999), member since 1992, Energy Technology.

Wanted

Historical items and photos relating to The Electrochemical Society are wanted for a new edition of the Society history book. All items and photos will be returned. If suitable, they will be used for the new edition to be available at the 2002 Centennial Meeting. Please contact Mary Yess, Director of Publications, at the Society, 609.737.1902, ext. 22, publications@electrochem.org.

Division and Group News

New officers for the 1999-2001 term have been nominated for the following Divisions, to be voted upon during Divisional Business Meetings held during the Fall Society Meeting in Honolulu.



Electrodeposition Division

Chairman Madhav Datta Vice-Chairman Sudipta Roy Secretary Daniel Schwartz Treasurer John Stickney Members-at-Large Gery Stafford Walther Schwarzacher



Chairman Steven J. Visco First and Second Vice-Chairmen Fernando H. Garzon Elizabeth J. Opila Secretary-Treasurer Suzanne E. Mohney Members-at-Large Stuart Adler Harlan U. Anderson Timothy Armstrong Turgut Gur Sossina M. Haile Michael L. Hitchman Peggy Hou

Hiroyasu Iwahara Nathan S. Jacobson Meilin Liu Toshio Maruyama Mike McNallan Mogens Mogensen Trikur A. Ramanarayanan Fred Roozeboom Steven L. Russek David A. Shores Subhash C. Singhal Karl E. Spear Mark T. Swihart Eric D. Wachsman J. Bruce Wagner, Jr. Werner Weppner Eric J. Wuchina Wayne L. Worrell



Proposed Changes to Corrosion Division Bylaws

The Corrosion Division recommends the following changes to the Division Bylaws, to be voted upon during the Division Business Meeting held during the Fall Society Meeting in Honolulu.

The following change is proposed to increase the number of members at large on the Division's Executive Committee.

Article VI. Section 2

Present: The officers of the Division, the immediate past chairman of the Division, and three members at large shall constitute the Executive Committee of the Division.

Proposed: The officers of the Division, the immediate past chairman of the Division, and five members at large shall constitute the Executive Committee of the Division.

The following changes are proposed to eliminate the need to change the Bylaws when the award rules change.

Article VII. Section 1

Present: A H. H. Uhlig Award Committee, consisting of a Chairman, three other members of the Division, and the immediate Past Chairman of the Division, shall be appointed

by the Chairman of the Division at least one year before the Fall Meeting of the Society at which the Award is to be made. This committee shall select the recipient of the H. H. Uhlig Award of the Corrosion Division, according to the rules established for this Award.

Proposed: The Division Chairman will appoint the H. H. Uhlig Award Committee as directed by the rules established for this Award.

Article VII. Section 2

Present: The Chairman shall appoint a Morris Cohen Award Committee of at least three persons, with one of these designated as Chairman, two years prior to the presentation of the Award. The Chairman will conduct the process as described in the Award rules.

Proposed: The Division Chairman will appoint the Morris Cohen Award Committee as directed by the rules established for this Award.

Anniversary Members

It is with great pleasure that we announce the following Anniversary Members, who have reached their 30, 40, 50 and 60 year anniversaries with the Society in 1999. Congratulations to all!

60-Year Members

Edward Adler H. Bandes H. Aubrey Clay

50-Year Members

Herbert Dengler Sam H. Dreisbach Bruno Leonelli Frank Solomon

40-Year Members

James R. Black Willard S. Bundy Allen Gee George R. Gillooly Thomas F. Kassner Charles C. Liang Herbert F. Matare Fujio A. Matsuda Lewis V. McCarty William A. Pliskin Robert W. Powers Harvey N. Seiger Irving Shain Shigeo Shionoya Herbert P. Silverman James A. Sluss, Jr. Roy W. Steigler, Jr. Isaac Trachtenberg Aiji A. Uchiyama Robert F. Walton Robert D. Weaver

30-Year Members

Richard C. Alkire Fred C. Anson Kunitsugu Aramaki Shyam D. Argade Badr E. G. Ateva Wishvender K. Behl Klaus D. Beyer Robert F. Brebrick Stanley Bruckenstein Kathryn R. Bullock Guido A. Capuano Der T. Chin Glenn W. Cullen Robert R. Eliason Ronald E. Enstrom David R. Flinn James N. Fordemwalt Marco V. Ginatta Maurice H. Hanes

Robert A. Huggins Nils I. Jaeger Dennis C. Johnson Alex E. Jvirblis Don L. Kendall Roger N. Kust **Chung-Chiun Liu** Florian Mansfeld Nehemiah Margalit John R. McCartney Carl E. Mueller Kotaro Ogura Carlton M. Osburn Robert A. Osteryoung Erik M. Pell Dirk Pouli Raymond C. Rhees Hitoshi Sakamoto Max Schaldach Bruno Scrosati Erhard Sirtl William H. Smyrl Philip C. Symons Iwao Teramoto Roy F. Thornton Ellis D. Verink, Jr. Cyrus E. Whitfield **Rene Winand**