AWARDS

Call for Nominations



Henry B. Linford Award

Nominations are now being solicited for the Society's Henry B. Linford Award for Distinguished Teaching. The eleventh presentation of this award will be made at the 2002 fall Society meeting in Salt Lake City, Utah.

The recipient shall be distinguished for excellence in teaching in subject areas of interest to the Society. The award consists of a silver medal, a wall plaque, and a cash prize at \$2,500.

Nominations for this award must be accompanied by supporting documents such as a biography; list of recent courses taught; list of publications, including any textbooks; professional activities; list of former students and their affiliations; and other appropriate supporting materials. Letters of support by distinguished colleagues and former students are also encouraged.

To obtain a nomination form, contact the subcommittee chairman or ECS headquarters. Please send eight copies of the nomination form and all documents to: N. Oyama, Department of Applied Chemistry, Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology, 2-24-16 Naka-ko, Koganei, Tokyo, Japan 184-8588, tel: 81.42.388.7041, fax: 81.42.383.4719, e-mail: oyama@cc. tuat.ac.jp.

Nominations must be received by September 1, 2001.



Thomas D. Callinan Award

Nominations are solicited for the 2001 Thomas D. Callinan Award, to be presented at the Society's Centennial Meeting (spring 2002). This award, established in 1967, is given each year by the Dielectric Science and Technology Division to encourage excellence in research, the publication of quality technical papers, and other outstanding contributions in the field of dielectric science and technology. The award, open to both members and nonmembers of the Society, consists of a plaque and \$1,500.

DS&T Division members are urged to give careful consideration to nominating possible candidates for this award. Nominations, accompanied by supporting documents such as a biography, list of publications and patents, and a brief summary of outstanding contributions, should be mailed to the award chairman: D. Misra, Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering, New Jersey Institute of Technology, University Heights, Newark, NJ 07102, tel:

973.596.5739, fax: 973.596.5680, e-mail: dmisra@adm.njit.edu.

The deadline for receipt of nominations is July 1, 2001.



Electronics Division Award

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2002 Electronics Division Award. This award, presented annually, recognizes active members of the Society who have made outstanding scientific contributions and enhanced the stature of the Society by presentation of their work in papers in the *Journal* and at Society meetings.

To be considered for this award, all nominees must be a member of the Society and have authored or coauthored more than one article in the *Journal* and/or presented more than one full paper at a Society meeting within the last five years. The award consists of a scroll and \$1,500.

Nominations for this award must be accompanied by supporting data, such as a list of publications, patents, activities, and a brief summary outlining the accomplishment on which the award will be based, and should be submitted

before August 1, 2001 to the chairman of the Electronics Division award committee: G. Celler, Agere Systems, Room 3L-402, P. O. Box 636, New Providence, NJ 07974-0636, tel: 908.582.2861, fax: 908.582.2950, e-mail: gkc@agere.com. ■

2000 Summer Fellowship Award Subcommittee

Merlin Bruening
Michigan State University

Carol Korzenewski Texas Tech University

Michael Mirkin
City University of New York

Stephen Creager Clemson University

Elizabeth Podlaha Louisiana State University

Maryanne Collinson Kansas State University

See the 2000 Fellowship Award reports in this issue starting on page 48.