# **PEOPLE NEWS**



## John Goodenough Honored for Battery Research

Professor John Goodenough, of the University of Texas, has been named the recipient of the 2000 Japan Prize, a prestigious scientific award. The award, given for original and profound achievements in science and technology, is for the work that Dr. Goodenough has done with lithium maganese oxide and lithium cobalt oxide. This work has fueled the development of lighter, longer-lasting batteries that produce twice the voltage of predecessors. Dr. Goodenough will travel to Tokyo in April of this year to accept the award.

Dr. Goodenough was awarded the 1999 Olin Palladium Award given by ECS.



# Nicholas J. Welham Receives Award

Dr. Nicholas J. Welham, graduate member of the Research School of Physical Sciences at the Australian National University, has been awarded the Rossiter W. Raymond Memorial Award of the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers for 2001. The award, which recognizes the best paper published by AIME in a given period, was presented at the AIME annual banquet held in Denver, Colorado in late February 2001.

(continued on the next page)

#### **People News** (continued from the previous page)

# In Memoriam



**Robert A. Powers** (1923-2000)

Robert A. Powers, a long time member of The Electrochemical Society and past chairman of the Cleveland Section. died on October 10, 2000 after a short illness. He received his BS, MA, and PhD (under the direction of Prof. Norman Hackerman) in chemistry from the University of Texas. His education was interrupted by service in

the U.S. Army Air Corps as a weather observer during World War II.

Dr. Powers joined the National Carbon Company in Cleveland, Ohio in 1951 as a research chemist working on corrosion and metal anode systems. His work led to important developments in corrosion inhibitors for use in antifreeze formulations in automobile radiators. His subsequent work on alkaline batteries resulted in classic publications with Akiya Kozawa, which are still cited, on the interpretation of alkaline zinc-manganese dioxide battery discharges. He moved into management as he became a group leader, assistant director of research, and then director of research for Union Carbide Corporation, Consumer Products Division. As the company evolved, he became Director of Technology of the Battery Division of Union Carbide (now Energizer Holdings Co.) where he was instrumental in the development and construction of the Eveready Technology Center in Westlake, Ohio.

After retirement from Eveready, he served as Industry Liaison Officer for the Case Center for Electrochemical Science at Case Western Reserve University and then as Executive Director of the Edison Sensor Technical Center at CWRU.

From 1990, Dr. Powers was the principal of Powers Associates Consulting Services. In addition to consulting in the battery field, he created the Powers Reports on "Battery Industry Developments" (an annual report) and the biennial report on "Lithium and Lithium Ion Batteries," with which he was actively involved at the time of his death.

Dr. Powers also served for many years on a National Institutes of Health Review Panel for SBIR proposals and was named a Case Centennial Scholar at CWRU. In addition to his many technical publications, Dr. Powers was an author or co-author of five encyclopedia and book chapters and held 13 U.S. Patents with corresponding foreign patents.

Dr. Powers is survived by his wife, Annie; three children, Paula Tchirkow, Nancy Powers, and Robert Powers; and three grandchildren. His knowledge and wit will be sorely missed in the electrochemical community. Memorial contributions may be made to Christ Methodist Church, 3625 W. 138th St., Cleveland, OH 44111, or the American Diabetes Association, 155 Ken-Mar Industrial Pkwy., Broadview Heights, OH 44147.

### In Memoriam

Günther Barthel (d. 2000), member since 1970, Battery.

James H. Bartlett (1904-2000), member since 1951, Physical Electrochemistry.

S. J. Dickinson (d. 2000). member since 1923. High **Temperature Materials.** 

Fred W. Eppensteiner (1920-2000), member since 1947, Electrodeposition.

Bruno Leonelli (1912-2000), member since 1949. Electrodeposition.

John F. Rittenhouse (1912-2000), member since 1948, Battery.

Hiroaki Tagawa (1931-2000), member since 1982, Physical Electrochemistry.