PENNINGTON CORNER



Big Dog

by Roque J. Calvo
ECS Executive Director

ast July in New York City, I was inaugurated as the 51st president of the Council of Engineering and Scientific Society Executives (CESSE). CESSE is a dynamic organization with a diverse membership and a talented group of volunteers who commit their time and energy to the program and activities of the organization. I suspect my experience as CESSE president may have similarities with the experiences of the presidents of The Electrochemical Society, and I often wonder if their feelings about leading a vibrant professional membership organization are similar to mine. The constant stream of new ideas and initiatives from the members often make me feel like a little kid who's walking a Big Dog, and waiting to see where the dog wants to go so he can take him there.

While that may sound like a relaxed leadership style for the senior officer of a society or association, it is very often beneficial to the organization. Both ECS and CESSE are membership organizations, which means decisions should be made by and for the members. I believe that

I believe that the success of a professional membership society involves effectively serving the needs of its constituents, and when these change (and the Big Dog pulls), a president needs to be ready to go there with him.

the success of a professional membership society involves effectively serving the needs of its constituents, and when these needs change (and the Big Dog pulls), a president needs to be ready to go there with him.

I do not believe this diminishes the leadership role of these presidents. ECS presidents, e.g., have to juggle many complex issues and a very diverse constituency. They need to have expertise in the broad technical disciplines of ECS and competency in its programs (such as electronic publishing and meeting management), all while being

Important decisions are made in nearly every presidents's term and each must have the skills necessary to build consenus and the courage to move forward when consenus cannot be reached.

skilled administrators. Important decisions are made in nearly every president's term and each must have the skills necessary to build consensus and the courage to move forward when consensus cannot be reached. ECS members are very fortunate to have had many outstanding presidents (a complete list appears on page 8) They have been one of the most important factors influencing the success of ECS.

ECS presidents come from the "grass roots" of the organization and are not nominated for political reasons or by special interest groups. The nominating process, defined in the ECS Constitution, requires that a candidate for ECS office must either have served for one year on the Board of Directors or for two years on a standing committee. This ensures that candidates will have some basic understanding of ECS before they are even considered for office. The Nominating Committee consists of five members, including a past president, an officer of ECS, and three active members. The committee is required to select a slate of nominees that includes two qualified members for each office. After the committee selects the slate of nominees, they must submit it to the Board of Directors

(continued on the next page)

Pennington Corner

(continued from previous page)

for final approval. ECS then holds a general election by way of a mail ballot that is sent to all eligible voting members. Presidential candidates first appear on the ECS election ballot when they run for the office of vice-president. If elected, they will serve for three years as a vice-president and then (assuming they have satisfied the expectations of the Nominating Committee) they will be nominated to run unopposed for the office of president. (Voting members may place a write-in vote on the ballot). This process allows for a rigorous and lengthy training period before a candidate can be nominated to serve as the ECS president.

I am not sure if I will ever be certain about whether the president is leading or being led by the Big Dog. However, I am certain that ECS has been very fortunate to have had committed and talented presidents, and that they have made ECS a better organization. I can also tell you that while the Big Dog is big, and enthusiastic, the president still holds the leash, and a good yank on the chain has on many occasions kept the Big Dog from barking up the wrong tree.

Tome J. Colus

CESSE celebrates its $50^{\rm th}$ anniversary this year. Over 150 associations send representatives to attend seminars and workshops on trends and changing conditions. CESSE publishes a newsletter, surveys member organizations to gather information on member satisfaction, and has a

voice when significant issues face the technical-professional community in the national legislative arena. CESSE provides a forum for the mutual exchange of experiences, ideas, and solutions for common problems in operating a professional society.

ECS Presidential Roll Call

J. W. Richards(1902-1904)
H. S. Carhart(1904-1905)
W. D. Bancroft(1905-1906)
C. Hering(1906-1907)
C. F. Burgess(1907-1908)
E. G. Acheson(1908-1909)
L. H. Baekeland(1909-1910)
W. H. Walker(1910-1911)
W. R. Whitney(1911-1912)
W. L. Miller(1912-1913)
E. F. Roeber(1913-1914)
F. A. Lidbury(1914-1915)
L. Addicks(1915-1916)
F. A. J. FitzGerald(1916-1917)
C. G. Fink(1917-1918)
F. J. Tone(1918-1919)
W. D. Bancroft(1919-1920)
W. S. Landis(1920-1921)
A. Smith(1921-1922)
C. G. Schluederberg(1922-1923)
A. T. Hinckley(1923-1924)
H. C. Parmelee(1924-1925)
F. M. Becket(1925-1926)
W. Blum(1926-1927)
S. C. Lind(1927-1928)
P. J. Kruesi(1928-1929)
F. C. Frary(1929-1930)
L. Kahlenberg(1930-1931)
B. Stoughton(1931-1932)
R. A. Witherspoon (1932-1933)
J. Johnston(1933-1934)
H. S. Lukens(1934-1935)
J. H. Critchett(1935-1936)

D. A. MacInnes(1936-1937)
W. G. Harvey(1937-1938)
R. L. Baldwin(1938-1939)
H. J. Creighton(1939-1940)
F. C. Mathers(1940-1941)
R. R. Ridgway(1941-1942)
E. M. Baker(1942-1943)
R. M. Burns(1943-1944)
S. D. Kirkpatrick(1944-1945)
W. R. Veazey(1945-1946)
W. C. Moore(1946-1947)
G. W. Heise(1947-1948)
J. A. Lee(1948-1949)
A. L. Ferguson(1949-1950)
C. L. Faust(1950-1951)
R. M. Hunter(1951-1952)
J. C. Warner(1952-1953)
R. J. McKay(1953-1954)
M. J. Udy(1954-1955)
H. H. Uhlig(1955-1956)
H. Thurnauer(1956-1957)
N. Hackerman(1957-1958)
S. Swann(1958-1959)
W. C. Gardiner(1959-1960)
R. A. Schaefer(1960-1961)
H. B. Linford(1961-1962)
F. L. LaQue(1962-1963)
W. J. Hamer(1963-1964)
L. I. Gilbertson(1964-1965)
E. B. Yeager(1965-1966)
H. J. Read(1966-1967)
H. C. Gatos(1967-1968)
I. E. Campbell(1968-1969)

N. C. Cahoon(1969-1970)
C. W. Tobias(1970-1971)
C. V. King(1971-1972)
T. D. McKinley(1972-1973)
N. B. Hannay(1973-1974)
D. A. Vermilyea(1974-1975)
T. R. Beck(1975-1976)
M. J. Pryor(1976-1977)
D. N. Bennion(1977-1978)
D. R. Turner(1978-1979)
J. B. Berkowitz(1979-1980)
E. M. Pell(1980-1981)
R. J. Brodd(1981-1982)
F. J. Strieter(1982-1983)
J. B. Wagner, Jr(1983-1984)
P. C. Milner(1984-1985)
R. C. Alkire(1985-1986)
R. E. Enstrom(1986-1987)
F. G. Will(1987-1988)
B. E. Deal(1988-1989)
E. J. Cairns(1989-1990)
J. M. Woodall(1990-1991)
L. R. Faulkner(1991-1992)
W. L. Worrell(1992-1993)
R. P. Frankenthal(1993-1994)
J. A. Amick(1994-1995)
K. R. Bullock(1995-1996)
D. W. Hess(1996-1997)
B. Miller(1997-1998)
G. M. Blom(1998-1999)
D.E. Hall(1999-2000)
C. M. Osburn(2000-2001)
J. B. Talbot(2001-2002)