

Ashok Vijh Elected President of RSC Academy of Science

ASHOK VIJH, an ECS member since 1968, has been elected President of the Academy of Science of the Royal Society of Canada (RSC). As

President of the Academy, he also became one of the Vice-Presidents of the RSC. Dr. Vijh obtained his PhD in physical chemistry from the University of Ottawa. He is a Maître de Recherche at the Institut de Recherche d'Hydro-Québec; and concurrently, an invited professor at the Institut Nationale de la Recherche Scientifique of the Université du Québec.

The Academy release noted that "Dr. Vijh's research has earned him a world-wide reputation in electrochemistry. His insight in adopting and adapting concepts and methodologies from solid-state physics, applied from a physical chemistry perspective, has allowed him to make an extraordinary number of original and innovative contributions, published in well over three hundred refereed publications."

Ashok Vijh has received over 40 major prizes, awards, medals, decorations, and other distinctions including the Noranda Lecture Award of the Chemical Institute of Canada (1979), the Urgel-Archambault Prize of l'Association Canadiennefrançaise pour L'avancement des Sciences (1984), the Chevalier de l'Ordre National du Québec (1987), the Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Prize (1987), Doctor honoris causa of Concordia University (1989) and University of Waterloo (1993), the Thomas W. Eadie Medal of the Royal Society of Canada (1989), The Chemical Institute of Canada Medal (1990),

Officer of the Order of Canada (1990), Compagnon de Lavoisier (Order of Chemists of Quebec, 1995), a University Lectureship of the University of Ottawa (1997), the Prix Marie-Victorin (Les prix du Québec; 1998), and the Golden Jubilee Medal (Queen Elizabeth II) in 2002.

In 2005, Dr. Vijh was elected a Visiting Fellow of St Edmund's College, Cambridge University. Elected to the Royal Society of Canada in 1985, he has served it in many capacities such as Director of the Applied Science and Engineering Division of The Academy of Science (1990-92); Director, Math. and Physical Science Division of The Academy of Science (1994-97); Chair, Society Awards and Medals Committee (1998-2004); Chair, External Awards Committee (1995-98); Chair, Science and Ethics Committee (1995-98); and Vice-President, The Academy of Science (2003-05).

Dr Vijh is a Fellow of several scientific societies and international academies, including the European Academy of Arts, Sciences, and Humanities. He is well-known as a forceful advocate of the importance of fundamental research in Canada. He has also written on themes such as science and ethics, the epistemology of science, and the unity of creative processes in arts and sciences. The announcement of his election notes that "Dr. Vijh is an outstanding example of the vitality injected into Canadian culture and society by the community of new Canadians."

John R. Scully Receives LaQue Memorial Award

John R. Scully, a professor of materials science and engineering and co-director of the Center for Electrochemical Science and Engineering at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville, has been honored with the 2005 Francis LaQue Memorial Award by ASTM International Committee G01 on Corrosion of Metals. Committee G01 cited Scully "for his numerous contributions in the development of standards to address corrosion issues; in recognition of his high level of integrity, fairness, technical and leadership expertise; and for his outstanding achievements as an academician in the field of corrosion technology."

Prof. Scully has been a member of ECS since 1981; and was named an ECS Fellow in 2005. He earned his bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees in materials science and engineering from Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland. He has previously been recognized with an ASTM Award of Appreciation as well as honors from the U.S. Department of Defense and professional societies, and he is a fellow of NACE International.

Dr. Scully has been a senior technical staff member at Sandia National Laboratories, a visiting research scientist at AT&T Bell Laboratories, and a ship materials engineer at the David W. Taylor Naval Ship Research and Development Center, all prior to joining the University of Virginia. He is the author or co-author of more than 110 refereed journal articles, has written chapters for textbooks, edited technical works, and made numerous technical presentations at conferences. He serves on the board of review for Corrosion Journal and is a member of several government advisory boards.

In Memoriam

JOHN D. CATHCART (1923-2005) — member since 1966, Corrosion Division

Luc Heerman (1942-2005) — member since 2002, Electrodeposition Division

Donald R. Mason (1920-2005) — member since 1957, Electronics and Photonics Division