### **AWARDS**



## **ECS Awards**



The **Vittorio DE Nora Award** was established in 1971 for contributions to the field of electrochemical engineering and technology; and consists of a gold medal, wall plaque, and a prize of \$7,500. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Vancouver, Canada, April 25-30, 2010.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to James Fenton, University of Central Florida, 1679 Clearlake Rd, Florida Solar Energy Center, Cocoa, FL 32922-5703, USA; tel: 321.638.1002; e-mail jfenton@fsec.ucf.edu. **Materials are due by May 1, 2009.** 



The **Henry B. Linford Award for Distinguished Teaching** was established in 1981 for excellence in teaching in subject areas of interest to the Society; and consists of a silver medal, wall plaque, and a prize of \$2,500. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Vancouver, Canada, April 25-30, 2010.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Peter Hesketh, Georgia Technical University, School of Mechanical Engineering, 801 Ferst Drive, Atlanta, Georgia 30332-0405, USA; tel: 404.385.1358; e-mail: peter.hesketh@me.gatech.edu. Materials are due by May 1, 2009.



The **Oronzio de Nora Industrial Electrochemistry Fellowship of The Electrochemical Society** was established in 2003 to assist a postdoctoral scientist or engineer in the research of the field of industrial electrochemistry, and consists of a \$25,000 scholarship for one year, twice renewable based on successful research progress as judged by the award's committee. The next award will be announced April 1, 2010.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Albert L. Barnes, Eltech Systems Corp., 625 East Street, Fairport Harbor, OH 44077-5668, USA; e-mail: al.barnes@denora.com. **Materials are due by January 1, 2010.** 

For details on each award, including a list of requirements for award nominees, and in some cases, a downloadable nomination form, please go to the ECS website (www. electrochem.org) and click on the "Awards" link. This will take you to a general page that will then lead to the individual awards. The awards are grouped in one of four categories: Society Awards, ECS Division Awards, Student Awards, and ECS Section Awards. Click on one of these sub-links to find the individual award. Please see each for information about where nomination materials should be sent; or you may contact the ECS headquarters office by using the contact information on the awards Web page. For student awards, please see the Student News Section in this issue.

# Visit www.electrochem.org

and click on the "Awards" link.

## **ECS Division Awards**



The DIELECTRIC SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY DIVISION THOMAS D. CALLINAN AWARD was established in 1967 to

encourage excellence in dielectrics and insulation investigations. The award consists of a scroll and a prize of \$1,500. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Vancouver, Canada, April 25-30, 2010.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Durgamadhab Misra, New Jersey Institute of Technology, ECE Dept., 161 Warren St., Newark, NJ 07102, USA; tel: 973.596.5739, e-mail: dmisra@njit. edu. Materials are due by August 1, 2009.



The **Electrodeposition Divi- SION RESEARCH AWARD** was established in 1979 to recognize outstanding research

contributions to the field of electrodeposition. The award consists of a scroll and a prize of \$2,000. The next award will be presented at the ECS fall meeting in Vienna, Austria, October 4-9, 2009.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Ibro Tabakovic, Seagate Technology, 1 Disc Dr, Bloomington, MN, 55435-5421, USA; tel: 952.402.8874; e-mail: ibro.m.tabakovic@seagate.com. Materials are due by April 1, 2009.



The Electronics and Photonics

Division Award was established in 1968 to encourage excellence in electronics

research and outstanding technical contribution to the field of electronics science. The award consists of a scroll, a prize of \$1,500, and travel expenses or life membership in the Society. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Vancouver, Canada, April 25-30, 2010.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Carlton M. Osburn, 103 Homestead Dr., Cary, NC 27513-2903, USA; tel: 919.515.5153, email: osburn@eos.ncsu.edu. Materials are due by August 1, 2009.



The Research Award of the Energy and Technology Division was established in 1992 to encourage excellence

(continued on next page)

### AWARDS

(continued from previous page)

in energy related research. The award consists of a scroll, a prize of \$1,500, and membership in the Energy Technology Division as long as a member of ECS. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Vancouver, Canada, April 25-30, 2010.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Albert R. Landgrebe, 1604 Fairway Oaks Dr., Palmetto, FL 34221-5923, USA; tel: 941.729.2966, e-mail: albert@dmv.com. Materials are due by September 1, 2009.



The RICHARD SMALLEY
RESEARCH AWARD OF THE
FULLERENES, NANOTUBES, AND
CARBON NANOSTRUCTURES

**Division** was established in 2006 to recognize outstanding contributions to the understanding and applications of fullerenes in a broad sense. The award consists of a scroll, a prize of \$1,000, and travel assistance up to \$1,500. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Vancouver, Canada, April 25-30, 2010.

Looking for

Student News

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to the award chair, Olga V. Boltalina, Dept. of Chemistry, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO 80523, USA; tel: 970.491.7801, e-mail: ovbolt@lamar.colostate.edu. Materials are due by July 1, 2009.



The SES RESEARCH YOUNG INVESTIGATOR AWARD OF THE FULLERENES, NANOTUBES, AND CARBON NANOSTRUCTURES

**Division** was established in 2007 to recognize and reward one outstanding young researcher each year in the field of fullerenes, carbon nanotubes, and carbon nanostructures. The award shall consist of a certificate plus \$500 and free meeting registration costs to help the recipient attend the ECS meeting at which the presentation is made. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Vancouver, Canada, April 25-30, 2010.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to the award chair, Olga V. Boltalina, Dept. of Chemistry, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO 80523, USA; tel: 970.491.7801, e-mail: ovbolt@lamar.colostate.edu. Materials are due by September 1, 2009.

Send all correspondence to:

Pennington, NJ 08534-2839, USA

65 South Main Street

Interface is an authoritative yet accessible publication. With new ideas and products emerging at an overwhelmingly rapid pace—your product or service can stand out in a publication that will be read by over 9,000 targeted readers worldwide.

Why Advertise?

Your advertisement will be read by those hard-to-reach people in the field, actual users and purchasers of computers, both hardware and software; precision instruments, optics, laser technology, and other equipment; materials such as batteries, cells, chemistry, metals, etc.; semiconductor processing equipment; training and travel; outside laboratories; and other publications about computers, materials, and sources.

In today's environment of increasing competition for purchasers of goods and services, few publications can put your message in a more credible, respected editorial environment.



ECS takes an active interest in the affairs of its Student Members, and we are always interested in hearing from you about your interests, activities, and accomplishments.

www.electrochem.org



the society for solid-state and electrochemical science and technology

ECS

65 South Main Street, Bldg. D Pennington, New Jersey 08534-2839 USA

tel: 609.737.1902 • fax: 609.737.2743 interface@electrochem.org

www.electrochem.org