AWARDS





The VITTORIO DE NORA AWARD was established in 1971 for contributions to the field of electrochemical engineering and technology; and consists of a gold medal, wall plaque, and a prize of \$7,500. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Seattle, Washington, May 6-11, 2012.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Gerardine Botte, Ohio University, Russ College of Engineering & Technology, 166 Stocker Center, Athens, OH 45701, USA; tel:740.593.9670; e-mail: botte@ohio.edu. Materials are due by May 1, 2011.



THE HENRY B. LINFORD AWARD FOR DISTINGUISHED TEACHING was established in 1981 for excellence in teaching in subject areas of interest to the Society; and consists of a silver medal, wall plaque, and a prize of \$2,500. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Seattle, Washington, May 6-11, 2012.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Gerald Frankel, Ohio State University, 477 Watts Hall, 2041 N College Road, Columbus, OH 43210-1124, USA; tel: 614.688.4128; e-mail: frankel.10@osu.edu. Materials are due by May 1, 2011.

Division Awards



The Electrodeposition Division Research Award was established in 1979 to recognize recent outstanding achievement or contribution in the field of electrodeposition. The award consists of a scroll and a prize of \$2,000. The next award will be presented at the

ECS fall meeting in Boston, Massachusetts, October 9-14, 2011. Submit nominations in a letter detailing the accomplishments of the nominee accompanied by a list of supporting publications

with titles to John L. Stickney, Department of Chemistry, The University of Georgia, Athens, GA 30602-2556, USA; e-mail: stickney@uga.edu. Materials are due by April 1, 2011.



The Electronics and Photonics Division Award was established in 1968 to encourage excellence in electronics research and outstanding technical contribution to the field of electronics science. The award consist of a scroll, a prize of \$1,500, and expenses up to \$1,000 or payment of Life Membership in the Society. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Seattle, Washington, May 6-11, 2012.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Dennis Hess, Georgia Institute of Technology, School of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, 311 Ferst Drive, Atlanta, GA 30332-0100, USA; e-mail: dennis.hess@chbe.gatech.edu. Materials are due by August 1, 2011.



The Research Award of the Energy and Technology DIVISION was established in 1992 to encourage excellence in energy related research. The award consists of a scroll, a prize of \$1,500, and membership in the Energy Technology Division as long as a member of ECS. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Seattle, Washington, May 6-11, 2012.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Peter Pintauro, Vanderbilt University, Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, VU Station B #351604, 2301 Vanderbilt Place, Nashville, TN 37235-1604, USA; e-mail: peter.pintauro@vanderbilt.edu. Materials are due by September 1, 2011.

The SES Research Young Investigator Award of NANOTUBES, THE FULLERENES, AND CARBON NANOSTRUCTURES DIVISION was established in 2007 to recognize and reward one outstanding young researcher each year in the field of fullerenes, carbon nanotubes, and carbon nanostructures. The award shall consist of a certificate plus \$500 and free meeting registration costs to help the recipient attend the ECS meeting at which the presentation is made. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Seattle, Washington, May 6-11, 2012.

(continued on next page)



For details on each award, including a list of requirements for award nominees, and in some cases, a downloadable nomination form, please go to the ECS website (www.electrochem.org) and click on the "Awards" link. This will take you to a general page that will then lead to the individual awards. The awards are grouped in one of four categories: Society Awards, ECS Division Awards, Student Awards, and ECS Section Awards. Click on one of these sub-links to find the individual award. Please see each for information about where nomination materials should be sent; or you may contact the ECS headquarters office by using the contact information on the awards Web page. For student awards, please see the Student News Section in this issue.

Visit WWW.electrochem.org

and click on the "Awards" link.

AWARDS

(continued from previous page)

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to the award chair, Prashant V. Kamat, Dept. of Chemistry & Biochemistry and Radiation Laboratory, Univ. of Notre Dame, Notre Dame IN 46556-5674, USA; e-mail: pkamat@nd.edu. Materials are due by September 1, 2011.

The David C. Grahame Award of the Physical and ANALYTICAL ELECTROCHEMISTRY DIVISION Was established in 1981 to encourage excellence in physical electrochemistry research. The award consists of a scroll and prize of \$1,500. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, May 12-17, 2013.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Paul C. Trulove, Chemistry Department, U.S. Naval Academy, 572M Holloway Rd., Stop 9B, Annapolis MD, 21402-5026, USA; tel. 410.293.6622, e-mail: trulove@usna.edu. Materials are due by October 1, 2011.