AWARDS



Vittorio de Nora Award

The Honors and Awards Committee is soliciting nominations for the Vittorio de Nora Award in Electrochemical Engineering and Technology. This award will be presented at the Spring 2000 Meeting of the Society in Toronto, at which time the recipient will deliver an award address on a subject related to the contributions for which the award was received.

The recipients shall be distinguished for outstanding contributions to electrochemical engineering and technology. The award consists of a gold medal and a cash prize of \$7,500.

This is one of the Society's most prestigious awards, and all members are urged to give serious consideration to nominating possible candidates. Nomination forms are available from ECS Headquarters or the Subcommittee Chairman: Jennifer Bardwell, National Research Council of Canada, Bldg. M-50, Rm. 254,

Ottawa, ON, Canada K1A OR6; Tel: 613.993.8572, Fax: 613.990.0202, E-mail: jennifer.bardwell@nrc.ca. Eight copies of each nomination must be received by the beginning of the Spring 1999 ECS Meeting.



Henry B. Linford Award

Nominations are now being solicited for the Society's Henry B. Linford Award for Distinguished Teaching. The ninth presentation of this Award, which consists of a silver medal, a scroll, and a cash prize, will be made at the Spring 2000 Society Meeting in Toronto, Canada.

The recipient shall be distinguished for excellence in teaching in subject areas of interest to the Society. The award consists of a silver medal and a cash prize of \$2,500.

Nominations for this Award must be accompanied by supporting documents such as a biography; a list of recent courses taught; a list of publications, including any textbooks; professional activities; a list of former students and their affiliations; and other appropriate supporting materials. Letters of support by distinguished colleagues and former students are also encouraged.

To obtain a nomination form, contact the Subcommittee Chairman or ECS Headquarters. Please send eight copies of the nomination form and all documents to: V. Kapoor, President, 3500 University Hall, Office of the President, University of Toledo, Toledo, OH 43606-3390; Tel: 419.530.2211, Fax: 419.530.4984, E-mail: vic.kapoor@utoledo.edu. Eight copies of each nomination must be received by the beginning of the Spring 1999 ECS Meeting.



Thomas D. Callinan Award

Nominations are solicited for the 2000 Thomas D. Callinan Award, to be presented at the 2000 Spring Society Meeting in Toronto, Canada. This Award, established in 1967, is given each year by the Dielectric Science and

(continued on next page)

Technology Division to encourage excellence in research, the publication of quality technical papers, and other outstanding contributions in the field of dielectric science and technology. The award, open to both members and nonmembers of the Society, consists of a plaque and \$1,500.

DS&T Division members are urged to give careful consideration to nominating possible candidates for this award. Nominations, accompanied by supporting documents such as a biography, list of publications and patents, and a brief summary of outstanding contributions, should be mailed to the Chairman of the Callinan Award: K. Voros, Microfabrication Laboratory, 406 Cory Hall, University of California, Berkeley, CA 94720, Tel: 510.642.2716; Fax: 510.642.2916; E-mail: voros@argon.eecs.berkeley.edu.

The deadline for receipt of nominations is September 1, 1999.



Electronics Division Award

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2000 Electronics Division Award. This award, presented annually, recognizes active members of the Society who have made outstanding scientific contributions and enhanced the stature of the Society by presentation of their work in papers in the *Journal* and at Society Meetings.

To be considered for this award, all nominees must be a member of the Society and have authored or coauthored more than one article in the *Journal* and/or presented more than one full paper or more than two recent newspapers at a Society Meeting within the last five years. The award consists of a scroll and \$1,500.

Nominations for this award must be accompanied by supporting data, such as a list of publications, patents, activities, and a brief summary outlining the accomplishment on which the award will be based, and should be submitted before August 1, 1999 to the Chairman of the Electronics Division Award Committee: Steven Dzioba, NORTEL (Northern Telecom), MS 029, P.O. Box 3511, Station C, Ottawa, Ont., Canada K1Y 4H7; E-mail: dzioba@nortel.ca.