## AWARDS

## Call for Nominations

For details on each award, including list of requirements for award nominees, and in some cases, a downloadable nomination form, please go to the ECS website (www.electrochem.org) and click on the "Awards" link in the upper right-hand corner. This will take you to a general page that will then lead to the individual awards. The awards are grouped in one of three categories: Society Awards, ECS Division Awards, and ECS Section Awards. Click on one of these sub-links to find the individual award. Please see below for information about where nomination materials should be sent; or you may contact the ECS headquarters office by using the contact information on the awards web page. For student awards, please see the Student News Section in this issue.





The Olin Palladium Award was established in 1950 for distinguished contributions to the field of electrochemical or corrosion science; and consists of a

palladium medal, a plaque, and a prize of \$7,500. The next award will be presented at the ECS fall meeting in Los Angeles, California, October 16-21, 2005.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Douglas Hansen, Princeton Applied Research, 801 S. Illinois Ave., Oak Ridge, TN 37830-9101, USA; tel. 865.483.2141, fax 865.425.1334, e-mail doug.hansen @pari-online.com; materials are due October 1, 2004.



Carl Wagner The Memorial Award was established in 1980 to recognize mid-career achievement and excellence in research in areas of interest to the Society,

and significant contributions in the teaching or guidance of students or colleagues in education, industry, or government. The award consists of a Life membership in the Society, a scroll, a silver medal, and travel assistance to the meeting of the award presentation (up to \$1.000). The next award will be presented at the ECS fall meeting in Los Angeles, California, October 16-21, 2005.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Cynthia J. Pacific Bruckner-Lea, Northwest National Laboratory, MS K8-93, PO Box 999, Richland, WA 99352-0999, USA; tel. 509.376.1044, fax 509.376.1044, e-mail cindy.bruckner-lea@pnl.gov; materials are due October 1, 2004.



The category of Fellow of The Electrochemical Society was established in 1989 for individual contributions and leadership in the achievement of science and technol-

ogy in the area of electrochemistry and solid-state sciences and current active participation in ECS affairs. The award consists of a scroll, lapel pin, and announcement in a Society publication. The next award selections will be made for presentation at the ECS fall meeting in Los Angeles, California, October 16-21, 2005.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Steven Visco, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, MS 62-203, 1 Cyclotron Road, Berkeley, CA 94720, USA; tel. 510.486.5821, fax. 510.486.4881, e-mail sjvisco@lbl.gov; materials are due January 15, 2005.



The Oronzio de Nora Industrial Electrochemistry Fellowship was established in 2003 to assist a postdoctoral scientist or engineer in the

research field of industrial electrochemistry. The award consists of a \$25,000 fellowship for one year, twice renewable based on successful research progress as judged by the award's committee. The next award will be presented April 1. 2005.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Peter C. Foller, PPG Industries, Inc., 1461 Lyons Chase Circle, Murraysville, PA 15668-2627, USA: tel. 724.325.5181. fax 724.325. 5105, e-mail foller@ppg.com; materials are due January 1, 2005.

## **ECS Division Awards**

Cl

The H. H. Uhlig Award of the Corrosion Division was established in 1972 to recognize excellence in corrosion research and outstanding technical contributions to the field of corrosion science. The award consists of a scroll, prize of \$1,500, and if required, travel assistance to the meeting of the award presentation. The next award will be presented at the ECS fall meeting in Los Angeles, California, October 16-21, 2005.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Clive R. Clayton, SUNY at Stony Brook, 2 Villet Dr., Setauket, NY 11733-2618, USA; tel. 631.632.9272; e-mail cclayton@ notes.cc.sunysb.edu; materials are due December 15, 2004.

The Thomas D. Callinan  $\langle E \rangle$ Award of the DS&T Division was established in 1967 to encourage excellence in dielectrics and insulation investigations; the award consists of a scroll and a prize of \$1,500. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Québec City, Canada, May 15-20, 2005.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to H. Rathore, IBM, Internal Mail Stop AE1, B1640, 2070 Rte. 52, Hopewell Jct., NY, 12533, USA; tel. 845.892.2905, e-mail rathore@us.ibm.com; materials are due August 1, 2004.



The Electronics Division Award was established in 1968 to encourage excellence in electronics research and outstanding technical contribution to the field of electronics science; the award consists of a scroll, a prize of \$1,500, and expenses up to \$1,000 or payment of a Life membership in the Society. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Québec City, Canada, May 15-20, 2005.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Yue Kuo, Texas A&M University, Chem Eng MS 3122, 335-0 Zachry Engineering Center, College Station, TX 77843-3122, USA; tel. 979.845.9807, fax 979.458.8836, e-mail yuekuo@tamu. edu; materials are due August 1, 2004.



The Research Award of the **Energy Technology Division** was established in 1992 to encourage excellence in energy related research. The award consists of a scroll, a prize of \$1,500, and membership in the Energy Technology Division for as long as the award recipient is a Society member. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Québec City, Canada, May 15-20, 2005.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to M. A. Ryan, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, 4800 Oak Grove Dr., #198-235, Pasadena, CA 91109-8001, USA; tel. 818.354.8028, fax 818.393.4272, e-mail mryan@jpl. nasa.gov; materials are due October 1, 2004.

## ECS Section Awards



The Heinz Gerischer Award of the European Section was established in 2001 to recognize an individual or a small group of individuals (no more than three) who

have made an outstanding contribution to the science of semiconductor electrochemistry and photoelectrochemistry, including the underlying areas of physical and materials chemistry. The award consists of a plaque and a prize of 2,000 Euros. The next award will be presented at the 3rd Gerischer Symposium in Berlin, July 6-8, 2005.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Dr. Claude Levy-Clement, CNRS, LCMTR, 2-8 rue Henrie Dunant, 94320 Thiais, France, Tel. 33.1.49.78.13.31, Fax: 33.1.49. 78.12.03, e-mail levy-clement@ glvt-cnrs.fr; materials are due September 30, 2004.

Visit www.electrochem.org and click on the "Awards" link.