## STUDENT NEWS



The winners of the **STUDENT POSTER SESSION** awards received their recognition at the Society Annual Luncheon and Business Meeting in Montréal. From left to right are: **François Goy**, President, Bio-Logic (France), sponsor of the awards; **Vijay Ramani**, judge; **Neil Spinner**, award winner; **Kirsten Marie Jensen**, award winner; ECS President **William D. Brown**; **Simon Lux**, award winner; **Javed Khan**, award winner; **Kalpathy Sundaram**, organizer; and **Bill Eggers**, President, Bio-Logic (USA), sponsor of the awards.

Four ECS student members were award winners at the Poster Session at the ECS meeting in Montréal, Canada on May 2, 2011. The winners included; **Neil Spinner**, University of Connecticut, first place for Electrochemical Science and Technology; **Kirsten Marie Jensen**, Aarhus University, Denmark, second place for Electrochemical Science and Technology; **Simon Lux**, Westfälische Wilhelms University, Münster, first place for Solid State Science and Technology; and **Javed**  **Khan**, University of California-Riverside, second place for Solid State Science and Technology. Bio-Logic, a current ECS Corporate Member, sponsored the event and the Society would like to again thank this organization for its generosity and support. ECS also congratulates these students for their fine presentation and work at the Poster Session. The Student Poster Session in Montréal included 76 presentations and the event is held at every ECS meeting.

The Montréal Student Poster Session was organized by Venkat Subramanian (Chair), Vimal Chaitanya, and Kalpathy В. Sundaram. The Education Committee thanked the organizers for their work and the following judges for their time and efforts: Zoraida Aguilar, Rob Calhoun, Frank Chen, Emiliana Fabbri, Matt Foley, Oana Leonte, Mascher, Bill Mustain, Peter Jason Nicholas, Yaw Obeng, Vijay Ramani, Abhijit Shevade, and Alex Simonian

# TO LEARN MORE . . .

about any of the **ECS student programs**—student poster sessions, awards, or Student Chapters—please contact **David W. Harkness**, Director of Constituent Services at david.harkness@electrochem.org or 609.737.1902, extension 103, for more information.

(continued on next page)

### STUDENT NEWS

(continued from previous page)

## **ECS Welcomes Two New Student Chapters**

Two new ECS Student Chapters were officially approved for formation at the ECS meeting in Montréal. One is now established at the University of California-Riverside, and will be advised by Alexander Balandin, and currently has nine student members. The second Student Chapter is located at Ohio University in Athens, Ohio and the eleven student members will be advised by Gerardine Botte. ECS is very excited about working with these two new Student Chapters. ECS currently has 26 chapters world-wide, and they are very important in helping to foster understanding and promote electrochemical and solid-state sciences.



The ECS SUMMER FELLOWSHIPS were established in 1928 to assist students during the summer months in pursuit of work in

the field of interest to ECS. The next fellowships will be presented in 2012.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Vimal Chaitanya, New Mexico State University, Office of the VP for Research, MSC 3RES - Box 30001, Las Cruces, NM 88033-8001, USA, e-mail: vimalc@nmsu.edu. Materials are due by January 15, 2012.



The Morris Cohen Graduate STUDENT AWARD OF тне CORROSION DIVISION was established 1991 in to recognize outstanding graduate research



For details on each award—including a list of requirements for award nominees, and in some cases, a downloadable application form-please go to the ECS website (www.electrochem.org) and click on the "Awards" link. Awards are grouped in the following sub-categories: Society Awards, ECS Division Awards, Student Awards, and ECS Section Awards. Please see the individual award call for information about where nomination materials should be sent; or contact ECS headquarters.

in the field of corrosion science and/or engineering. The award consists of a scroll, a prize of \$1,000, and travel assistance to the meeting where the award will be presented (up to \$1,000). The next award will be presented at the ECS fall meeting in Honolulu, Hawaii, October 7-12, 2012.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to David A. Shifler, Office of Naval Research, 875 N. Randolph Street, Code 332, Arlington, 22203-1995, USA; e-mail: david. VA shifler@navy.mil. Materials are due by December 15, 2011.

The H. H. Dow MEMORIAL STUDENT AWARD OF THE INDUSTRIAL ELECTROCHEMISTRY AND ELECTROCHEMICAL ENGI-**NEERING DIVISION** was established in 1990 to recognize promising young engineers scientists in the fields of and electrochemical engineering and applied electrochemistry. The award consists of a scroll and a prize of \$1,000 for educational purposes. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Seattle, Washington, May 6-11, 2012.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Venkat Subramanian. Dept. of Energy, Environmental, and Chemical Engineering, Washington University in St. Louis, One Brookings Dr., Box 1180, (Office Location: Cupples II, Room 222), St. Louis, Missouri 63130, USA; e-mail: vsubramanian@seas.wustl.edu. Materials are due by September 1, 2011.



The Student ACHIEVEMENT Award of the Industrial **ELECTROCHEMISTRY AND ELECTRO-**CHEMICAL ENGINEERING DIVISION

was established in 1989 to recognize young engineers promising and scientists in the field of electrochemical engineering and to encourage the recipients to initiate careers in this field. The award consists of a scroll and a prize of \$1,000 for educational purposes. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Seattle, Washington, May 6-11, 2012.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Venkat Subramanian, Dept. of Energy, Environmental, and Chemical Engineering, Washington University in St. Louis, One Brookings Dr., Box 1180, (Office Location: Cupples II, Room 222), St. Louis, MO 63130, USA; e-mail: vsubramanian@seas.wustl.edu. Materials are due by September 1, 2011.

#### **Student Travel Grants**

Several of the Society's Divisions offer travel assistance to students and young faculty members presenting papers at ECS meetings. For details about travel grants for 221st ECS Meeting in Seattle, Washington, USA, please see the Seattle, Washington, Call for Papers; or visit the ECS website: www.electrochem.org/ student/travelgrants.htm. Please be sure to e-mail the student travel grant contact as each Division requires different materials for approval. The deadline for submission for the spring 2012 travel grants is November 21, 2011.

#### **Awarded Student Memberships** Available



ECS Divisions are offering Awarded Student Memberships to qualified fulltime students. To be

eligible, students must be in their final two years of an undergraduate program or enrolled in a graduate program in science, engineering, or education (with a science or engineering degree). Postdoctoral students are not eligible. Awarded memberships are renewable for up to four years; applicants must reapply each year. Memberships include article pack access to the Journal of The Electrochemical Society online, Electrochemical and Solid-State Letters online, ECS Transactions online, and a subscription to Interface. To apply for an Awarded Student Membership, use the application form below or refer to the ECS website at: www.electrochem.org/awards/student/ student\_awards.htm#a.