## PEOPLE

## Romankiw and Thompson Named to National Inventors Hall of Fame



Lubomyr T. Romakiw

wo IBM scientists. LUBOMYR ROMANKIW and DAVID THOMPSON (retired), were inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame on May 2, 2012 for their invention that paved the way for the advancement of commercial disk storage technology used in computers, digital cameras, and other devices. The two were honored for their invention of a technique that produced the first practical and manufacturable thin film magnetic head, which increased the density of data stored on magnetic disks and dramatically reduced the cost of data storage.

Dr. Romankiw has been a member of ECS since 1963 and has been the recipient of several ECS awards. In 1984, he received the Electrodeposition Division Research Award (along with R. J. von

Gutfeld); in 1990 he was named a Fellow of The Electrochemical Society; and in 1994, he received the Society's prestigious Vittorio de Nora Award.

Over 30 years ago, Romankiw and Thompson patented their thin film inductive transducer invention (U.S. Patent #4,295,173), which enabled magnetic disk storage devices to be produced smaller and less expensively than previously possible. The technique, along with two other patented inventions (#3,921,217 and #3,908,194), is credited with creating an industry estimated to generate more than \$35 billion in annual sales and has facilitated very small and sensitive magnetic disk storage devices able to store increasingly greater amounts of information. Today, a disk drive in a typical desktop computer can store up to 400 gigabytes (or 400 billion bytes) of data.

"IBM's global technical community shares a passion for invention and innovation, along with a relentless pursuit of progress that can help make our world a better place," said IBM Fellow and Vice President of Innovation, Bernie Meyerson. "The accomplishments of Lubomyr Romankiw, David Thompson, and other IBMers in the Inventors Hall of Fame illustrates that our continuing commitment to R&D is consistently delivering benefits to IBM clients and society."

Dr. Romankiw holds over 65 patents and has published over 150 scientific papers. He is an IBM Fellow, an IEEE Fellow, and a member of the IBM Academy of Technology. In 1993, Dr. Romankiw received the Society of Chemical Industry's Perkin Medal (1993).

Dr. Thompson holds over 20 patents and has published over 30 scientific papers. He is an IBM Fellow, a member of the IBM Academy of Technology, a IEEE Fellow, and a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

*This notice was prepared by Erin Catney, IBM Research.* 

## Hubert Gasteiger Wins Grove Medal



**Hubert Gasteiger** 

**UBERT GASTEIGER** was the recipient of the 2012 Grove Medal, which was presented in April at the Grove Fuel Cell Event in Berlin. Professor Gasteiger has been an ECS member since 1989 and was named an ECS Fellow in 2011. Early in his career, he was selected as the Joseph W. Richards Summer Fellow (1993) and received the ECS Norman Hackerman Young Author Award (1994). He has served on numerous committees. including as Chair of the ECS Fuel Cells Subcommittee. Dr. Gasteiger is currently Chair of Technical Electrochemistry at the Chemistry Department of the Technische Universität München.

Professor Gasteiger received his PhD in 1993 researching methanol oxidation on Pt-Ru alloy catalysts at UC Berkeley. He has led research groups studying fuel cell electrocatalysis in both the U.S. and Germany and has commercial experience working as technical manager on the GM/Opel Fuel Cell Activities program. After his work at GM, Prof. Gasteiger was appointed Director of Catalyst Technology at Acta S.p.A developing catalysts and electrolyzers and enjoyed a oneyear Visiting Professor position with Yang Shao-Horn at MIT.

Dr. Gasteiger has over 74 refereed publications, 13 book chapters, and 31 published patents; he is also Editor-In-Chief of the *Handbook of Fuel Cells*.