FROM THE EDITOR



And the Winner Is...

Recently the Swedish Academy announced this year's Nobel prizes. The chemistry prize went to Alan MacDiarmid, Alan Heeger, and Hideki Shirakawa for their work on conducting polymers. The physics prize was shared by Jack Kilby, Herbert Kroemer, and Zhores Alferov in recognition of their contributions to microelectronics. The Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine went to three pioneers in neurophysiology: Arvid Carlsson, Paul Greengard, and Eric Kandel. It is worth noting that

recent meetings of the Society have featured symposia in nearly all of these research topics.

The chemistry awards and the recognition of Jack Kilby as a co-inventor of the integrated circuit were both particularly relevant to me—first because of my own foray into conducting polymer research in the 1980s and second because of Mr. Kilby's affiliation to Dallas (see *Interface*, Vol. 8, No. 4, winter 1999, p. 3). Incidentally, the name of (the late) Robert Noyce was a notable omission from the physics list. Recall that the prizes are not given posthumously nor are they shared by more than three people in any one category.

Two things come to my mind with these annual announcements from Stockholm. Hark back to the excitement at the Toronto ECS meeting in fall 1992 when Rudy Marcus was announced as the chemistry winner. (He happened to be at the meeting at that time; see *Interface*, Vol. 1, No. 1, Winter 1992, p. 20.) The second happened at the conclusion of a freshman chemistry class that I started teaching this fall. A student came up and asked me whether I had heard about the latest Nobel laureates in chemistry and physics. To me this was very significant. I used to include a bonus examination question in my senior-level chemistry course on the identity of the latest Nobel prize winners in chemistry. I either got blank spaces in the answer books in response or some truly wacky answers.

I wonder how many people (outside our scientific community) can identify some of the above names with the pocket calculator, the PC, or the bar-code scanner. Similarly how many of the dot.com entrepreneurs have heard of Robert Noyce? On the other hand, which golf hacker (no, make that which person in this country) hasn't heard of Tiger Woods? Therein appears to be the core of the problem with our business, at least in my mind. If the importance and excitement of what we do can be effectively smuggled into the public persona, we'll all be winners. Stay tuned.

Krishnan Rajeshwar Editor

Raj K.

The Electrochemical Society *Interface* (USPS 010-327) (ISSN 1064-8208) is published quarterly by The Electrochemical Society, Inc., at 65 South Main Street, Pennington, NJ 08534-2839 USA. Subscription to members as part of membership service; subscription to nonmembers \$40.00 plus \$5.00 for postage outside U.S. Single copies \$5.00 to members; \$10.00 to nonmembers. © Copyright 2000 by The Electrochemical Society, Inc. Periodicals postage at Pennington, New Jersey, and at additional mailing offices. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to The Electrochemical Society, Inc., 65 South Main Street, Pennington, NJ 08534-2839.

The Electrochemical Society is an educational, nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization with more than 7000 scientists and engineers in over 70 countries worldwide who hold individual membership. Founded in 1902, the Society has a long tradition in advancing the theory and practice of electrochemical and solid-state science by dissemination of information through its publications and international meetings.

THE Betrochenical Society THE FACE THE BETT SOCIETY THE BETT SO

Published by: The Electrochemical Society, Inc. 65 South Main Street Pennington, NJ 08534-2839 USA Tel 609.737.1902 Fax 609.737.2743 Web: www.electrochem.org

Editor: Krishnan Rajeshwar e-mail: raj@utarlg.uta.edu

Contributing Editors: Johna Leddy and Mike Kelly

Managing Editor: Mary E. Yess e-mail: publications@electrochem.org

Production & Advertising Manager: Ellen S. Popkin e-mail: interface@electrochem.org

Advisory Board: Paul M. Skarstad (Battery),
Robert G. Kelly (Corrosion), Meyya Meyyappan
(Dielectric Science and Technology), Sudipta Roy
(Electrodeposition), George K. Celler (Electronics),
Thomas F. Fuller (Energy Technology), Prashant V.
Kamat (Fullerenes), Elizabeth Opila (High
Temperature Materials), Mukul Jain (Industrial
Electrolysis and Electrochemical Engineering),
Esther Sluzky (Luminescence and Display
Materials), Jean Lessard, (Organic and
Biological Electrochemistry), Daniel A.
Scherson (Physical Electrochemistry),
Cynthia J. Bruckner-Lea (Sensor)

Publication Committee Chairman: Eric W. Brooman

Society Officers: Carlton M. Osburn, President Jan B. Talbot, Vice-President Karl E. Spear, Vice-President Bruno Scrosati, Vice-President Paul Natishan, Secretary William D. Brown, Treasurer Roque J. Calvo, Executive Director

Articles published, as well as papers presented before a Society technical meeting, become the property of the Society and may not be published elsewhere in whole or in part without written permission of the Society. Address such requests to the Director of Publications.

Statements and opinions given in The Electrochemical Society *Interface* are those of the contributors, and The Electrochemical Society, Inc. assumes no responsibility for them.

Authorization to photocopy any article for internal or personal use beyond the fair use provisions of the Copyright Act of 1976 is granted by The Electrochemical Society, Inc. to libraries and other users registered with the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), 222 Rosewood Dr., Danvers, MA 01923. Copying for other than internal or personal use without express permission of The Electrochemical Society, Inc. is prohibited. For reprint information, contact Society Headquarters. The CCC Code for The Electrochemical Society *Interface* is 1064-8208/92 \$3.00+\$0.00.

PRODUCTION NOTES
Design Consultant:
O&Y Design,
Trenton, NJ

Printed by

Cummings Printing Co. Hooksett, NH