## FROM THE PRESIDENT



## **Movers and Shakers**

s ECS President, I recently had the privilege of representing the Society at the Perkin Medal award ceremony in Philadelphia. The event was particularly gratifying since the 2004 recipient of this prestigious award was Dr. Gordon E. Moore. Dr. Moore co-founded both Fairchild Semiconductor and Intel. He is known worldwide for Moore's Law, which predicts the number of transistors on an integrated circuit double

every eighteen months. Dr. Moore is a 46-year member of ECS and is one of only two people to have given plenary lectures twice at our biannual meetings, the other being Nobel Laureate Dr. Rudy Marcus. Being an ECS dry-side chemist myself, who is associated with the semiconductor industry, it was most exciting to see that a fellow chemist and ECS member had received the Perkin Medal for his contributions to science and technology in the field of electronic devices.

This event was held in Philadelphia, which coincidentally is where our Society began in 1902, and where we held our centennial celebration just two years ago. As I sat on the dais, memories from the centennial celebration and our rich history came to mind. Through the years ECS has had the good fortune to have as members an abundance of famous, influential, and world-renowned scientists and technologists from industry, academia, and government laboratories. Many of

them we have recognized through the years with awards and symposia named in their honor. In particular, six Nobel Laureates have been actively involved with ECS and our activities. In addition, 12 members, 8 of whom were past-presidents of the Society, have received the Perkin Medal. Also in our ranks are National Medal of Technology winners, including Wilson Greatbatch, Jerry Woodall, Gordon Moore, and Nick Holonyak. Our members have many additional awards, including the Othmer Award.

At our inception, Thomas Edison was an active and influential member. His cohort, Edward Acheson, invented carborundum (silicon carbide) and founded a company of the same name. Also among our founders were Herbert Dow (Dow Chemical), Leo Baekeland (Bakelite), and Edward Weston (Weston Cadmium Cell, which is the center piece of the ECS corporate seal).

Through the years we have had a tradition of dedicated educators such as Herbert Uhlig (Corrosion Handbook), Charles Tobias (father of modern electrochemical engineering), Norman Hackerman and Larry Faulkner (respectively, the former and current President of University of Texas, Austin), Masuo Aizawa (President of Tokyo Institute of Technology), and Heinz Gerischer (a multi-disciplined scientific collaborator in Europe).

In one column alone, it is impossible for me to recount the vast range of deans, department chairs or institution presidents; nor can I enumerate the government lab directors or section heads; nor in industry list the CEOs or lead researcher members that have actively influenced and enhanced the reputation of The Electrochemical Society. The bottom line is ECS is the proud home for a host of scientific and engineering colleagues who really have made a difference and still continue to move and shake the world.



ECS member Gordon E. Moore (center) received the 2004 Perkin Medal from the Society of Chemical Industry (SCI) America Section this past September. The medalist is chosen by a Jury of Award composed of officers from SCI and five other societies, including ECS. Also attending the award dinner were ECS president ROBIN SUSKO (left) and ECS past president WAYNE L. WORRELL.

Robin a Susko

Robin Susko ECS President