Awards





The **VITTORIO DE NORA AWARD** was established in 1971 for contributions to the field of electrochemical engineering and technology; and consists of a gold medal, wall plaque, and prize of \$7,500. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Phoenix, Arizona, May 18-23, 2008.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to James Fenton, University of Central Florida, 1679 Clearlake Rd., Florida Solar Energy Center, Cocoa, FL 32922-5703, USA; tel: 321.638.1002; e-mail: jfenton@fsec.ucf.edu. **Materials are due by May 1, 2007.**



The **Henry B. Linford Award** for Distinguished Teaching was established in 1981 for excellence in teaching in subject areas of interest to the Society; and consists of a silver medal, wall plaque, and prize of \$2,500. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Phoenix, Arizona, May 18-23, 2008. Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Arumugam Manthiram, University of Texas, Texas Materials Institute, ETC 9-104, Austin, TX 78712-0292, USA; tel: 512.471.1791; e-mail: rmanth@ mail.utexas.edu. **Materials are due by May 1, 2007.**

The award of **FELLOW OF THE ELECTROCHEMICAL SOCIETY** was established in 1989 for individual contributions and leadership in the achievement of science and technology in the area of electrochemistry and solid-state sciences and current active participation in the affairs of The Electrochemical Society. The award consists of a scroll, lapel pin, and announcement in a Society publication. The next awards will be presented at the fall meeting in Washington, DC, October 7-12, 2007.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Steven Visco, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, MS 62-203, 1 Cyclotron Road, Berkeley, CA 94720, USA; tel: 510.486-5821; e-mail: sjvisco@lbl.gov. **Materials are due by January 15, 2007.**

The **Oronzio de Nora Industrial Electrochemistry Fellowship** was established in 2003 to assist a postdoctoral scientist or engineer in the research of the field of industrial electrochemistry. The award consists of a \$25,000 fellowship for one year, twice renewable based on successful research progress as judged by the Award's committee. The next award will be presented April 1, 2007.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Albert L. Barnes Eltech Systems Corp., 625 East St, Fairport Harbor, OH 44077-5668, USA; tel: 440.357.4020, e-mail: alb@eltechsystems.com. **Materials are due by January 1, 2007.**

(continued on next page)

Call for Nominations

For details on each award, including a list of requirements for award nominees, and in some cases, a downloadable nomination form, please go to the ECS website (www.electrochem.org) and click on the "Awards" link in the upper right-hand corner. This will take you to a general page that will then lead to the individual awards. The awards are grouped in one of four categories: Society Awards, ECS Division Awards, Student Awards, and ECS Section Awards. Click on one of these sub-links to find the individual award. Please see each for information about where nomination materials should be sent; or you may contact the ECS headquarters office by using the contact information on the awards Web page. For student awards, please see the Student News Section in this issue.

Visit www.electrochem.org
and click on the "Awards" link.

ECS Division Awards



The RESEARCH
AWARD OF THE
BATTERY DIVISION was
established in 1958 to
recognize outstanding
contributions to
the science and

technology of primary and secondary cells and batteries and fuel cells. The award consists of a scroll, prize of \$2,000, and membership in the Battery Division for as long as the winner is a Society member. The next award will be presented at the ECS fall meeting in Washington, DC, October 7-12, 2007.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to M. Stan Whittingham, SUNY at Binghamton, Dept. of Chemistry & Materials Center, Binghamton, NY 13902, USA; tel: 607.777.4623; e-mail: stanwhit@ binghamton.edu. Materials are due by March 15, 2007.



The Technology Award of the BATTERY DIVISION was established in 1993 to encourage the development of battery and fuel

cell technology. The award consists of a scroll, prize of \$2,000, and membership in the Battery Division as long as the winner is a Society member. The next award will be presented at the ECS fall meeting in Washington, DC, October 7-12, 2007.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Michael M. Thackeray, Argonne National Lab, Chem. Tech Div., 9700 S. Cass Ave., Argonne, IL 60439-4803, USA; tel: 630.252.9184; e-mail: thackeray@cmt.anl.gov. Materials are due by March 15, 2007.



The RESEARCH
AWARD OF THE
ELECTRODEPOSITION
DIVISION was
established in
1979 to recognize
outstanding

research contributions to the field of electrodeposition. The award consists of a scroll and prize of \$2,000. The next award will be presented at the ECS fall meeting in Washington, DC, October 7-12, 2007.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to the award chair, Philip N. Bartlett, School of Chemistry, University of Southampton, Highfie Id, Southampton, SO17 1BJ, United Kingdom, tel: 44 (0)23 8059 2373; e-mail: pnb@soton.ac.uk. Materials are due by April 1, 2007.



The RICHARD SMALLEY
RESEARCH AWARD
OF THE FULLERENES,
NANOTUBES,
AND CARBON
NANOSTRUCTURES
DIVISION WAS

established in 2006 to recognize outstanding contributions to the understanding and applications of fullerenes in a broad sense. The award consists of a scroll, a prize of \$1,000, and travel assistance up to \$1,500 to the meeting of Award presentation. The first award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Phoenix, AZ, May 18-23, 2007.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to the award chair, Olga V. Boltalina, Dept. of Chemistry, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO 80523, USA; tel: 970.491.5088, fax: 970.491.7801; e-mail: ovbolt@lamar. colostate.edu. Materials are due by July 1, 2007.



The J. B. WAGNER
AWARD OF THE
HIGH TEMPERATURE
MATERIALS DIVISION
was established in
1998 to recognize a
young member of

the Society who has demonstrated exceptional promise for a successful career in science and technology in the field of high temperature materials. The award consists of a scroll, check for \$1,000, complimentary meeting registration, and travel assistance (if needed) to the meeting where the award presentation will take place. The next award will be presented at the ECS fall meeting in Washington, DC, October 7-12, 2007.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Eric Wuchina, Naval Surface Warfare Center, Code 645, 9500 Macarthur Blvd Bldg 68, West Bethesda, MD 20817-5700, USA; tel: 301.227.3949; e-mail: wuchinaej@nswccd.navy.ml. Materials are due by January 1, 2007.