AWARDS



ECS Awards



The **VITTORIO DE NORA AWARD** was established in 1971 for contributions to the field of electrochemical engineering and technology; and consists of a gold medal, wall plaque, and prize of \$7,500. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Vancouver, Canada, April 25-30, 2010.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to James Fenton, University of Central Florida, 1679 Clearlake Rd., Florida Solar Energy Center, Cocoa, FL 32922-5703, USA; tel: 321.638.1002; e-mail jfenton@fsec. ucf.edu. **Materials are due by May 1, 2009.**



The **HENRY B. LINFORD AWARD FOR DISTINGUISHED TEACHING** was established in 1981 for excellence in teaching in subject areas of interest to the Society; and consists of a silver medal, wall plaque, and prize of \$2,500. The next award will be presented at the ECS spring meeting in Vancouver, Canada, April 25-30, 2010.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Peter Hesketh, Georgia Technical University, School of Mechanical Engineering, 801 Ferst Drive, Atlanta, Georgia 30332-0405, USA; tel: 404.385.1358; e-mail: peter.hesketh@me.gatech.edu. Materials are due by May 1, 2009.



The award of **ECS FELLOWS** was established in 1989 for individual contribution and leadership in the achievement of science and technology in the area of electrochemistry and solid-state sciences and current active participation of the affairs of ECS, and consists of a scroll, lapel pin, and announcement in a Society publication. The next Fellows will be presented at the ECS fall meeting in Vienna, Austria October 4-9, 2009.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Andrzej Wieckowski, University of Illinois-Chem/RAL 58B Box 56-5, 600 S Mathews Ave., Urbana, IL 61801-3602, USA; e-mail: andrzej@scs.uiuc.edu. **Materials are due by January 15, 2009.**



For details on each award, including a list of requirements for award nominees, and in some cases, a downloadable nomination form, please go to the ECS website (www.electrochem.org) and click on the "Awards" link. This will take you to a general page that will then lead to the individual awards. The awards are grouped in one of four categories: Society Awards, ECS Division Awards, Student Awards, and ECS Section Awards. Click on one of these sub-links to find the individual award. Please see each for information about where nomination materials should be sent; or you may contact the ECS headquarters office by using the contact information on the awards Web page. For student awards, please see the Student News Section in this issue.

Visit www.electrochem.org and click on the "Awards" link.

AWARDS

ECS Division Awards



The Research Award of the BATTERY DIVISION was established in 1958 to recognize

outstanding contributions to the science and technology of primary and secondary cells and batteries and fuel cells. The award consists of a scroll, a prize of \$2,000, and membership in the Battery Division for as long as the winner is a Society member. The next award will be presented at the ECS fall meeting in Vienna, Austria, October 4-9, 2009.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Kuzhikalail M. Abraham, E-Kem Sciences, 57 Colonial Road, Needham, MA 02492-1612, USA; tel. 781.444.8453, USA; e-mail: kmabraham@comcast.net. Materials are due by March 15, 2009.



The Technology Award of THE BATTERY DIVISION Was established in 1993 to encourage the development

of battery and fuel cell technology. The award consists of a scroll, prize of \$2,000 and membership in the Battery Division for as long as the winner is a Society member. The next award will be presented at the ECS fall meeting in . Vienna, Austria, October 4-9, 2009.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Martin Winter, Westfaelische Wilhelms Univ, Institute for Physical Chemistry, Muenster Corrensstrasse 28/30, D-4819 Muenster, Germany; e-mail: martin. winter@uni-muenster.de. Materials are due by March 15, 2009.

The **Electrodeposition** DIvision Research Award was established in 1979 to recognize outstanding research contributions to the field of electrodeposition. The award consists of a scroll and a prize of \$2,000. The next award will be presented at the ECS fall meeting in Honolulu, Hawaii October 12-17, 2008.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Ibro Tabakovic, Seagate Technology, 1 Disc Dr, Bloomington, MN 55435-5421, USA; tel: 952.402.8874; e-mail: ibro. m.tabakovic@seagate.com. Materials are due by April 1, 2009.

The Max Bredig Award in MOLTEN SALT CHEMISTRY OF THE **PHYSICAL AND ANALYTICAL ELEC-**TROCHEMISTRY DIVISION Was established in 1984 to recognize excellence in molten salt chemistry research and consists of a scroll and a prize of \$1,500. The next award will be presented at the ECS fall meeting in Las Vegas, Nevada, October 10-15, 2010.

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Hugh C. De Long, DR-IV, Program Manager, Biomimetics, Biomaterials and Biointerfacial Sciences, Air Force Office of Scientific Research, Directorate of Chemistry and Life Sciences, 875 North Randolph Street, Suite 325 Room 3112, Arlington, Virginia 22203, USA; tel. 703.696.7722, e-mail: hugh.delong@ afosr.af.mil. Materials are due by October 1, 2009.

Section Awards

The HEINZ GERISCHER AWARD OF THE ECS EUROPEAN SECTION is awarded to an individual or a small group of individuals (no more than 3) who have made an outstanding contribution to the science of semiconductor electrochemistry and photoelectrochemistry including the underlying areas of physical and materials chemistry of significance to this field. Previous awardees have included Akira Fujishima (Japan), Michael Grätzel (Switzerland), and Allen Bard (USA), all of them renowned for their accomplishments in the field of semiconductor electrochemistry and photoelectrochemistry. The next award will be presented at the 2009 Fall ECS meeting in Vienna (October 4-9, 2009) at the Semiconductor Electrolyte-Interface and Photoelectrochemical Energy Conversion symposium. The award recipient will give a plenary lecture as part of this symposium.

The award consists of a commemorative plaque and a prize of 2000 €. If required, financial assistance will be provided for non-reimbursed travel expenses incurred to receive the award (not to exceed $1000 \in$).

Nominations and supporting documents should be sent to Claude Lévy-Clément, e-mail address: levy-clement@icmpe.cnrs.fr. Materials are due by January 18, 2009.





authoritative yet accessible publication. With new ideas and products emerging at an overwhelmingly rapid pace—your product or service can stand out in a publication that will be read by over 9,000 targeted readers world-

Your advertisement will be read by those hard-to-reach people in the field, actual users and purchasers of computers, both hardware and software; precision instruments, optics, laser technology, and other equipment; materials such as batteries, cells, chemistry, metals, etc.; semiconductor processing equipment; training and travel; outside laboratories; and other publications about computers, materials, and sources.

In today's environment of increasing competition for purchasers of goods and services, few publications can put your message in a more credible, respected editorial environment.



the society for solid-state and electrochemical science and technology

ECS 65 South Main Street, Bldg. D Pennington, New Jersey 08534-2839 USA

tel: 609.737.1902 • fax: 609.737.2743 interface@electrochem.org

www.electrochem.org