SECTION NEWS

New Section Is Established in Chile

A new ECS Section has been formed in Chile and was approved at the recent Boston meeting. Chile has rich resources of copper, lithium, and many other metals, and vast regions for solar energy and hydroelectric power development. JOSE H. ZAGAL, a member of Society



Chair of the new

since 1977, was elected as Chair of the Section. Professor Zagal received his Licenciatura in chemistry from the University of Chile (1973) and his PhD from Case Western Reserve University (1978) under the supervision of Ernest Yeager. He held postdoctoral research appointments at Case Western Reserve University in 1978 and at Brookhaven National Laboratory in 1982. He was also a Brown & Williamson Visiting Scholar at

ECS Chile Section. the University of Louisville, Kentucky in 1996 and visiting

professor at ESPCI, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris in 1997 and at the Ecole National Supérieure de Chimie de Paris on several occasions. He is currently a Faculty member of the Department of Chemistry of Materials of the University of Santiago de Chile. Zagal was national secretary for Chile for the International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE). He has been a member of the advisory editorial board of the Journal of Applied Electrochemistry, of Electrocatalysis, and the Journal of Chilean Chemical Society. He is currently member of the editorial board of the International Journal of Electrochemistry. In 1996, he was awarded the Presidential Chair in Science by a judging committee headed by Nobel Laureate R. A. Marcus. Professor Zagal is the author of over 160 publications, edited two books, 11 reviews and book chapters, and has created three patents.

The newly formed Chile Section plans to promote electrochemical science and technology in Chile, to sponsor national meetings and workshops, recruit new members, open student chapters, promote the participation of Chilean scientists and students in ECS meetings, and create prizes for outstanding PhD students. Apart from Zagal, the other officers for the first two years are Arturo Squella, Maritza Paez, J. Francisco Silva, and Alejandro Vargas-Uscategui.

Looking for Section News

Chicago Section

Petr Vanýsek (left) introduces the winner of the Graduate Student Research Award, Matt Naughton.

The ECS Chicago Section held its meeting on September 7, 2011 at Argonne National Laboratory. The afternoon was dedicated to scientific presentations and attendees enjoyed holding the meeting in the brand new Building 240.

The meeting opened with remarks by Petr Vanýsek, Section Councilor, who updated the members and the guests about the state of ECS. Three scientific talks followed: Rational Design of Electrocatalysts for PEM Fuel Cell and Li-air Battery Applications," by Di-Jai Liu, Argonne National Laboratory; "Multiscale Computer Simulation of Proton Exchange Membranes," by Gregory Voth, University of Chicago; and "Lithium Battery Cathodes," by Christopher Johnson, Argonne National Laboratory.

The talks were followed by a wine and cheese reception, combined with student poster presentations. The organizers of the meeting also solicited nominations for a Graduate Student Research Award. The award, a scroll and a financial prize, was presented during the reception to Matt Naughton from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, a graduate student of Paul Kenis.

We welcome the opportunity to share with our membership, the scientific advances and activity news from your Section. Please forward information on educational programs (already held or upcoming), the names of award winners, and results of your elections to ecs@electrochem.org so we may include in future issues of Interface.

www.electrochem.org

SECTION NEWS

<u>India Section</u>



At a recent meeting of the ECS India Section were (from left to right): S. A. Ilngovan (Vikram Sarabhai Space Center Trivandrum, T. Prem Kumar (Central Electrochemical Research Institute, Karaikudi and Vice-Chair ECS India Section), Vijayamohanan K. Pillai (Central Electrochemical Research Institute, Karaikudi), Jean-Marie Tarascon (University of Picardie, Jules Verne, Amiens), A. K. Shukla (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore and Chair, ECS India Section), Aninda J. Bhattacharyya (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore), and K. T. Jacob (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore and Counselor, ECS India Section and President, Society for Advancement of Electrochemical Science and Technology).

Lecture Series on Advances in Lithium Batteries

The **India Section**, launched formally on December 2, 2010 (see *Interface*, spring 2011, p. 69), kickstarted its activities with a lecture series on "Advances in Lithium Batteries" by Jean-Marie Tarascon, High Merit Professor of Chemistry at the University of Picardie "Jules Verne," Amiens, France. The program was organized in association with the Society for Advancement of Electrochemical Science and Technology, India, and was conducted at the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore between July 25 and 29, 2011.

Professor Tarascon's marathon discourse lasted about 20 hours over five days, and covered an entire gamut of topics in lithium battery science and technology. Participation in the lecture series was by invitation only with about 50 delegates drawn from the academia and industry. The topics covered included: energy–stakes and challenges of sustainable electrochemical storage; history and development of battery technology–from Volta to lithium; physics and chemistry of lithium battery technology; materials aspects of lithium battery technology–bulk to nano, design, and cell assembly; sustainable and greener lithium-ion batteries-the organic/polymer alternative; safety aspects; technologies round the corner-lithium-air, lithium-sulfur, sodium-ion, and novel redox flow technologies; and batteries *vs.* supercapacitors. This was also the first time that the Indian battery fraternity was treated to such a comprehensive level of knowledge related to lithium batteries. The lectures were extremely relevant and important as India is a great consumer of lithium-ion batteries, with nearly 670 million subscribers (*Financial Express*, October 28, 2010) using lithium-ion batteries in their mobile phones, but does not have a manufacturing base for the batteries.

The five-day event came to a close with words of accolades for the speaker by A. K. Shukla, Chair of the ECS India Section, T. Prem Kumar, Co-Chair of the ECS India Section, K. T. Jacob, President of the Society for Advancement of Electrochemical Science and Technology, and Vijayamohanan K. Pillai, Director of the Central Electrochemical Research Institute.

New England Section

The New England Section is off to a great start with a new team of officers for 2011-2012. The Section's fall meeting and lecture series began in September and included a talk by K. M. Abraham entitled "Rechargeable Batteries for Long Range Electric Vehicles: Li-Ion versus Advanced Battery Systems," followed by Stanley Whittingham (SUNY-Binghamton), with his presentation in October on "Materials: The Technology Barrier to Advanced Batteries for Energy Storage." The Section is looking forward to a vibrant year of great talks and networking among the members within the local, national, and international electrochemical community. The ECS biannual meeting held in Boston during October greatly enhanced New England Section member interaction with colleagues from all over the world.