On February 10, 2021, The Electrochemical Society hosted Dr. Reza Javaherdasti’s live webinar, “Microbiologically Influenced Corrosion: Tips, Myths, Skills.” Dr. Javaherdashti is General Manager at Eninco Engineering B.V., The Netherlands. Below are Dr. Javaherdasti’s responses to questions asked in the Q&A session following his talk.

Dr. Javaherdashti has taught more than 5000 hours about electrochemical corrosion, corrosion management, and microbial corrosion to various industries worldwide. In this webinar, he discussed and explained the most important theoretical and practical aspects of microbiologically influenced corrosion (MIC) and microbiologically influenced deterioration (MID) mechanisms and how industry practitioners can recognize them.

View Dr. Javaherdasti’s Webinar


Dr. Richard B. Kaner
Distinguished Professor
Dr. Myung Ki Hong Endowed Chair in Materials Innovation
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
University of California, Los Angeles

Date: March 10, 2021
Time: 1300h ET
Sponsor: Hiden Analytical and Comsol


The ECS Europe Section has elected a new Executive Committee and members at large to serve in 2021 and 2022. The new officers are Prof. Philippe Marcus, Chair; Prof. Roberto Paolesse, Vice Chair; Prof. Robert Lynch, Secretary; and Prof. Jan Macák, Treasurer. Voting, which was open to all members of the Europe section, closed on January 31.

The elected members at large are:

  • Dr. Krzysztof Bienkowski, University of Warsaw, Poland
  • Dr. D. Noel Buckley, University of Limerick, Ireland
  • Prof. Stefan De Gendt, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
  • Prof. Geir Haarberg, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
  • Dr. Adriana Ispas, Technische Universität Ilmenau, Germany
  • Dr. Deborah Jones, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, France
  • Prof. Pawel Kulesza, University of Warsaw, Poland
  • Dr. Krzysztof Miecznikowski, University of Warsaw, Poland
  • Dr. Iwona Agnieszka Rutkowska, University of Warsaw, Poland
  • Prof. Zbigniew J. Stojek, University of Warsaw, Poland
  • Dr. Petr Vanýsek, Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic
  • Dr. Benjamin Wilson, Aalto University, Finland


Prof. Xiulie “David” Ji
Associate Professor
Oregon State University, U.S.

Date: March 04, 2021
Time: 1000h PT / 1300h ET
Presented by the ECS Pacific Northwest Section

The design of storage batteries entails a holistic view. This webinar summarizes five dimensions of considerations for the design of storage battery chemistries from a chemical reaction’s point of view. Electrode materials and ion charge carriers are the reactants; electrolytes are the reaction medium; battery configurations describe the operation fashion of the reactors; the electrode-ion chemical bonding reflects the nature of the chemical reaction, which affects the thermodynamic and kinetic properties of batteries. The permutations of these five dimensions result in ten unique approaches. The chemical-reaction nature of batteries can be a vantage that unifies rather than compartmentalizes a new paradigm of storage battery research. (more…)

Chair Dr. Jie Xiao, Pacific Northwest National Labs; Vice-Chair Prof. Corie Cobb, University of Washington; Secretary Dr. Yun Li, Microsoft Corporation; Treasurer Prof. Shannon Boettcher, University of Oregon.
ECS Pacific Northwest Section Officers are (from left to right) Chair
Dr. Jie Xiao, Pacific Northwest National Labs; Vice-Chair Prof. Corie Cobb, University of Washington; Secretary Dr. Yun Li, Microsoft Corporation; Treasurer Prof. Shannon Boettcher, University of Oregon.

The new ECS Pacific Northwest Section, chartered by the Society’s board on October 16, 2020, has planned an active program of events for 2021.

The section seeks to connect all interested parties from academia, industry, and government and bridge a scientific gap while providing networking opportunities that could lead to new developments—and help members advance their careers. The section serves all of the universities and national labs in Washington State, Idaho, and Oregon. Dr. Jie Xiao, ECS Fellow and Battery Division Secretary, took the lead in chartering the section and now serves as its chair. She believes the section will bolster the growth of the electrochemistry and solid state science fields in the Pacific Northwest. (more…)

Recruiters and job seekers come together at the ECS Career Center

The ECS Career Center places open jobs before the most qualified electrochemical professionals. Exclusive Job Flash emails go directly to their inboxes. Find the best professional to take your organization to the next level.


Recruitment continues to mirror our predominantly virtual lives, keeping the search for top talent a priority. Finding quality candidates is easy with the features available on The Electrochemical Society Career Center.

Here are three steps to connect with candidates in 2021: (more…)

“R&D Efforts in Energy Storage Technologies for the Grid at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory”

Speakers David Reed and Wei Wang discuss efforts at the Pacific Northwest National Lab (PNNL) to:


Prof. Christopher Muratore

Prof. Christopher Muratore

On January 27, 2021, The Electrochemical Society hosted Prof. Christopher Muratore’s live webinar, “Two-dimensional Materials for Scalable Modular Electronic Pathogen Sensors.” Prof. Muratore is the Ohio Research Scholars Endowed Chair Professor in the Chemical and Materials Engineering Department at the University of Dayton, U.S.

Prof. Muratore described the global need to move beyond point-of-care diagnostics to inexpensive, simple-to-use pathogen tests readily available to individuals on a daily basis.

View Prof. Muratore’s Webinar

NOTE: Registration is required to view the webinar.


Applications deadline is

February 22, 2021

As COVID-19 continues impacting organizations across the globe, ECS encourages student, postdoc, and young and early career professional authors and presenters to apply for support to participate in the 239th ECS Meeting and 18th International Meeting on Chemical Sensors (IMCS). As the meeting is now digital and no longer requires travel, funds from the ECS biannual meeting travel grant program are available for author/presenter registration fees and ECS memberships. ECS divisions and sections each have their own travel grants with different requirements and requirements.  

Learn more about Biannual Meeting Travel Grants

Application deadline: February 22, 2021


ECS is proud to present Dr. Yan Yao via free webinar on February 24, 2021, at 1300h ET.

Next-generation Batteries for Electric Vehicles and Stationary Storage

Dr. Yan Yao  
Cullen Professor of Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Houston, U.S.

Date: February 24, 2021
Time: 1300h ET
Sponsored by: Hiden Analytical


  • Page 1 of 3