231st ECS Meeting Topic Close-up: Solid-Gas Electrochemical Interfaces

Deadline for Submitting Abstracts
Dec. 16, 2016
Submit today!

231st ECS MeetingTopic Close-up #3

Symposium IO4: Solid-Gas Electrochemical Interfaces 2 – SGEI 2

Symposium Focus is on electrochemistry in many solid-state electrochemical processes and devices (such as gas electrolysis, fuel cells, ionic separation membranes, metal-air batteries, and gas sensors) occurs within a localized region near the interface between the reactant gas and one or more solid phases. During the last 10-15 years, it has become increasingly clear that the composition, structure, and/or properties of materials within this localized region deviate substantially from the bulk material(s) comprising the electrocatalyst.

Examples include stoichiometry variations in the vicinity of a three-phase boundary (TPB), enhanced activity near solid-solid heterointerfaces, cation segregation associated with surface reconstruction, and cation stratification/interdiffusion or secondary phase precipitation near gas-solid or solid-solid interfaces. Recent advances in both analytical techniques and modeling are beginning to shed new insights into these local variations in structure/composition, and the role they play in governing local rates.

These include new in situ experimental methods that probe the thermodynamic state of the solid bulk and surface under finite driving force, scanning probe and other methods that can spatially resolve local variations in conductivity, structure, composition, and reaction rates, and modeling methodologies that consider heterogeneity and local properties, including ab initio methods that consider variations in structure/composition at surfaces.

Invited speakers include:

  • Meilin Liu (Georgia Tech.)
  • John Kilner (Imperial College, Kyushu Univ.)
  • Juergen Fleig (TU-Wien)
  • André Weber (KIT)
  • Sossina Haile (Northwestern Univ.)
  • Ulrike Diebold (TU-Wien)
  • William Chueh (Stanford Univ.)
  • Eric Wachsman (Univ. Maryland)
  • Shirley Meng (UCSD)
  • Ronald Imbihl (Fritz-Haber Institute)
  • Jun Kubota (Fukuoka University)
  • Chenghao Wu (LBNL)
  • Dagmar Gerthsen (KIT)
  • Peter Vang Hendriksen (DTU)
  • Tatsumi Ishihara (Kyushu Univ.)
  • Jennifer Rupp (ETH)
  • Koji Amezawa (Tohoku Univ.)
  • Rotraut Merkle (Max Planck Institute-Stuttgart)
  • Dane Morgan (UW-Madison)
  • Eugene Kotomin (Max Planck Institute-Stuttgart)
  • Michihisa Koyama (Tohoku Univ.)

All content provided in the ECS Redcat blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.

Post Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *