Leah Ellis Student AwardThe ECS honors and awards program promotes technical achievements in electrochemistry and solid-state science and technology. The program also recognizes exceptional service to the Society. Recognition opportunities exist in the following categories: Society awards, division awards and section awards.

The Canada Section Student Award was established in 1987 to recognize promising young engineers and scientists in the field of electrochemical power sources. The award is intended to encourage the recipients to initiate or continue careers in the field. The award recipient will receive a $1,500 (CAD) prize and have the chance to present an award talk to section constituents. The next award winner will be recognized at the Canada Section annual meeting in fall 2018.


2017 Canada Section Awards

Canadian flagThe ECS Canada Section recently awarded Leah Ellis and Yurij Mozharivskyj the 2017 Canada Section Student Award and W. Lash Miller Award, respectively.

Canada Section Student Award

The Canada Section Student Award was established in 1987 to recognize promising young scientists and engineers in the field of electrochemical power sources. The 2017 award went to Leah Ellis, a PhD candidate at Dalhousie University working in lithium-ion battery research.

“This ECS Canada Section Student Award is very prestigious,” Ellis said. “Looking at the list of past award winners, I feel very honored and humbled to be included in this list. The award is very inspiring to me, and I hope to live up to its reputation.”


Deadline: December 31, 2017

ECS recognizes outstanding technical achievements in electrochemistry and solid state science and technology through its honors and awards program. We are currently accepting nominations for the Canada Section Electrochemical Award, which was established in 1981 to recognize significant contributions to the advancement of electrochemistry in Canada. The recipient will be recognized for his/her achievements with a gold medal at the section’s 2018 annual meeting.

It has been a few years since we have conferred this award. The last recipient was David Shoesmith of Western Science University in 2010. In 2006, the award was presented to Jeff Dahn of Dalhousie University. Consider your fellow electrochemists and let’s find out whose next!

Please review the full award details carefully before completing the application. I encourage you to submit a nomination and acknowledge the hard work of your peers!

The Canada Section is currently accepting nominations for the following award:

W. Lash MillerCanada Section W. Lash Miller Award: established in 1967 to recognize publications and/or excellence in the field of electrochemical science and technology and/or solid state science and technology. The award consists of a $1,500 CAD prize.

About W. Lash Miller
William Lash Miller was an eminent Canadian chemist and best known as one of the first proponents of Gibbsian thermodynamics in North America, a subject he first became acquainted with in Wilhelm Ostwald’s laboratory in Germany. Miller was the head of the chemistry department at the University of Toronto for sixteen years and was made a Commander of the British Empire in 1935. He was an active ECS member and served as President from 1912-1913.

Visit the award page for full description and list of notable past recipients.

Application Deadline: December 31, 2016

The ECS Honors & Awards Programs defines peer-to-peer recognition of distinguished professionals if the fields in electrochemistry and solid state science. Extend an award nomination today!

You are cordially invited to join the ECS Canada Section for its 2016 Fall Symposium! uoit1

The meeting will be held on November 12, 2016 at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology in Oshawa, Ontario. The theme of the symposium will be “Interdisciplinary Electrochemistry.”

The meeting will feature an illustrious array of distinguished speakers, as well as a poster competition open to students and postdoctoral fellows.