Canada Section Student Award

The Canada Section Student Award was established in 1987 to recognize promising young engineers and scientists in the field of electrochemical power sources. The awards are intended to encourage the recipients to initiate or continue careers in the field.

Nomination Deadline: February 28, annual
Presented: annual

Recipient qualifications

The recipient will be a student who is pursuing a PhD degree at a Canadian university in any area of science or engineering in which electrochemical science and technology and/or solid state science and technology is the central consideration. Candidates must be nominated by a university faculty member. Nominations must subsequently be supported by letters of recommendation from personnel in university, industry and government.


The award consists of a $1,500 (CAD) prize.

Past recipients

2017 – 2001
Leah Ellis
Not Awarded
Drew Higgins
Karen Chan, Simon Fraser University
Ahmad Ghahremaninezhad, University of British Columbia
Mohammed Naser, University of Western Ontario
Mohamed Naser, McMaster University
Arash Shahryari, McGill University
Thamara Laredo, University of Guelph
M. Toupin, Universite du Quebec a Montreal
Amy Lloyd, University of Western Ontario
Sandra Rifai, University of Ottawa
Vlad Zamliny, University of Guelph
Luc Beaulieu, Dalhousie University

2000 – 1988
Bryan Park, University of Waterloo
Dany Brouillette, University of Montreal
Shiyuan Qian, University of Sherbrooke
Ian A. Courtney, Dalhousie University
Aicheng Chen, University of Guelph
Alexandre Brolo, University of Waterloo
Sylvie Morin, University of Ottawa
Dan Bizzoto, University of Guelph
Meijie Zhang, University of Ottawa
Hubert Dumont, Universite de Sherbrooke
Gregory Jerkiewicz, University of Ottawa
James Hinatsu, University of Toronto
Gessie Brisard, Universite de Sherbrooke
Jean St-Pierre, Ecole Polytechnique