Canada Section R. C. Jacobsen Award

The ECS Canada Section R. C. Jacobsen Award was established in 1986 to recognize notable and significant contributions to the functioning of the ECS Canada Section.

Nomination Deadline: none
Presented: as candidates are brought forward for nomination

Recipient qualifications

The recipient is an active member of the ECS Canada Section with an established legacy of contributions to proper functioning thereof.


The award consists of a scroll.

About R. C. Jacobsen

Ratje C. “Jake” Jacobsen (1907 – 1985) was a long-serving officer in the ECS Ontario-Quebec Section (the forerunner of the ECS Canada Section), serving as both Treasurer and Public Archives Liaison Officer. He was also instrumental in renaming the section to the ECS Canada Section in order to better reflect the national breadth of membership. This award was created to honor his memory and his exemplary service to the Canadian electrochemical community.


Venkataraman Thangadurai, (2024)
Aicheng Chen, (2020)
James Noël, (2018)
Gregory Jerkiewicz, (2011)
Jacek Lipkowski, (2006)
 S. G. Roscoe, Acadia University, (2006)
E. Criddle, Defense Research Establishment Ottawa, (2002)
L. Brossard, University of Sherbrooke, (1994)
B. MacDougall, NRC, (1990)
G. Fraser, NRC, (1988)