Journal of The Electrochemical Society

About JES

Journal Links
» Visit JES website
» Submit an article to JES
» Track my article
» JES Focus Issues
» Leadership Collections
» Technical Scope
» Subscription information

JES is the flagship journal of The Electrochemical Society. Published continuously from 1902 to the present, JES remains one of the most highly-cited journals in electrochemistry and solid state science and technology.

  • 2020 Impact Factor: 4.316 [2020 Journal Citation Reports (Clarivate Analytics, 2021)]
  • Ranked #2 in Materials Science, Coatings and Films [2020 Journal Citation Reports (Clarivate Analytics, 2021)]
  • Cited half-life of >10 years – the highest value awarded by the Journal Citation Reports and the value JES has had for the past 10 years.
  • Review Speed: Average time from initial submission to first decision: 29 days
  • Publication Speed: Average time from acceptance to online publication: 9 days (online publication is final paginated fully-citable version of record)

Journal Editorial Board


Robert Savinell
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, OH, USA

Technical Editors

Doron Aurbach
Bar-Ilan University
Ramat-Gan, Israel
Batteries and Energy Storage
Takayuki Homma
Waseda University
Tokyo, Japan
Electrochemical/Electroless Deposition
David E. Cliffel
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, TN, USA
Physical and Analytical Electrochemistry,
Electrocatalysis, and Photoelectrochemistry
Ajit Khosla
Yamagata University
Yamagata, Japan
Gerald S. Frankel
The Ohio State University
Columbus, OH, USA
Corrosion Science and Technology
Janine Mauzeroll
McGill University
Montreal, QC, Canada
Organic and Bioelectrochemistry
John Harb
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT, USA
Electrochemical Engineering
Xiao-Dong Zhou
University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Lafayette, LA, USA
Fuel Cells, Electrolyzers, and Energy Conversion

Associate Editors

Michael Adachi
Simon Fraser University, Canada
Brett Lucht
University of Rhode Island, USA
Rohan Akolkar
Case Western Reserve University, USA
Stephen Maldonado
University of Michigan, USA
Netz Arroyo
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, USA
Scott Lillard
University of Akron, USA
Perla Balbuena
Texas A&M University
Thomas J. Schmidt
Paul Scherrer Institut, Switzerland
Thierry Brousse
University of Nantes, France
Minhua Shao
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology,
Hong Kong
Scott Donne
University of Newcastle, Australia
John A. Staser
Ohio University, USA
Olga Marina
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, WA USA
Alice Suroviec
Berry College, USA
Rajeev K. Gupta
North Carolina State University, USA
Thomas Thundat
University at Buffalo, USA
Charles L. Hussey
The University of Mississippi, USA
Nae-Lih (Nick) Wu
National Taiwan University, Taiwan

ECS Editorial Advisory Committee

Trisha Andrew (University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA)
S.V. Babu (Clarkson University, USA)
Lane Baker (Indiana University, USA)
Ronan Daly (University of Cambridge, UK)
Madhav Datta (Amrita School of Engineering, India)
Mike Hickner (Penn State University, USA)
Richard Keithley (Roanoke College, USA)
Sean King (Intel Corporation, USA)
Rainer Küngas (Haldor Topsøe A/S, Denmark)
Ramchandra Pode (Kyung Hee University, South Korea)
Anant Setlur (General Electric Global Research, USA)
Ryan West (University of San Francisco, USA)
Sheng-Joue Young (National United University, Taiwan)