Bruce Deal & Andy Grove Young Author Award

The Bruce Deal & Andy Grove Young Author Award was established in May 2013 to recognize the best paper published in the ECS Journal of Solid State Science and Technology (JSS) by a young author or co-authors for the volume year preceding the award.

Nomination: The Young Author Awards selection committees look at all qualified papers published in the prior volume year to find candidates.

Presented: Yearly

Recipient qualifications

Eligible authors shall be under 31 years of age at the date of receipt of the paper. All technical papers published in JSS for the volume year preceding the award are eligible.


The award consists of a framed scroll and a prize of US $1,500 to be divided among the eligible authors of the winning paper. In addition, a US $1,000 travel grant to be shared among the eligible authors will be given in order that the winners may attend the ECS meeting where the award will be presented. The winning author(s) will be given a complimentary one-year ECS membership to begin on June 1.

About Bruce E. Deal & Andy Grove

This award is named in honor of Andy Grove and Bruce Deal, co-authors on a paper published in the Journal of The Electrochemical Society describing the Deal-Grove model which mathematically describes the growth of an oxide layer on the surface of a material. The Deal-Grove model is used to analyze thermal oxidation of silicon in semiconductor device fabrication and has had a lasting influence on the semiconductor technology industry.


Chao-Ching Chiang
Jian-Sian Li
Tingyu Bai
Nicholas Hines
Yekan Wang
Takashi Matsumae
Jiancheng Yang

Shihyun Ahn
Peng Sun
Kohei Shima
Pengfei Guo
Ran Cheng
Wei Wang
Konstantinos Spyrou