Robin Susko

ECS President | 2004-2005

ECS Secretary | 1996-2000

Robin SuskoRobin Susko a Senior Technical Staff Member with IBM’s Microelectronics Division in East Fishkill, New York, is responsible for driving strategic aspects of electronic packaging materials, processing metallization, assembly, and associated reliability and performance in the Products and Packaging Quality and Reliability Organization. Prior to joining IBM, Susko worked for Sprague Electric’s Hybrid Division in Worcester, Massachusetts, as a semiconductor process engineer. At IBM, Susko has had extensive experience in product risk analysis, development of test methods critical to reliability, yields and field performance, development of state-of-the-art power cards for IBM’s personal computers, plasma process development and implementation for advanced printed wiring boards, alpha particle barrier development for semiconductor packaging, and polymer formulations including application in advanced electronic packages. Susko represents IBM in key JEDEC, IPC, and SEMATEC committees pertaining to product quality and reliability. She has been commended by these organizations for her work, most recently receiving JEDEC’s top honor, The Award of Excellence. Susko has also been recognized through IBM divisional, Invention Value, Invention Achievement, and Publication Achievement awards.

Susko received a B.S. in chemistry from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Since then, she’s been granted 25 U.S. and foreign patents for polymeric formulations, plasma processing, and semiconductor packaging design and reliability performance. In addition, she has published numerous bulletins and over 40 papers on various aspects of semiconductor packaging, processing, reliability performance, and qualification test philosophy and strategy.

As a Society member, Susko has organized symposia on key aspects of electronic packaging, materials, processing, metallization, and reliability and co-edited a number of proceedings volumes on these subjects. In 2003, she was elected a Fellow of ECS. She has previously held positions as the Secretary of the Society; Dielectric Science and Technology Division Secretary, Treasurer, Vice-Chair, and Chair, and is currently a member of the Division’s governing body. Susko has also served on numerous Society committees, including Executive, Publication, Ways and Means, Technical Affairs, Education, Finance, Honors and Awards, Society Meeting, Contributing Membership, as well as the Board of Directors.