Battery Division Student Research Award

Sponsored by Mercedes-Benz Research & Development

Nomination period: October 15 – January 15, annually
Presented: ECS fall meeting, annually

The Battery Division Student Research Award was established in 1979 to recognize promising young engineers and scientists in the field of electrochemical power sources. The award is intended to encourage recipients to initiate or continue careers in the field.

Eligibility criteria
  • Current membership in The Electrochemical Society and the ECS Battery Division
  • Enrolled in college or university at the nomination deadline
  • Recipient cannot receive a second ECS award or grant in the same year
Nomination guidelines

A complete nomination package includes:

  • Completed electronic nomination form;
  • Transcripts of all post-secondary academic work;
  • Record of applicant’s achievements (e.g., publications, technical presentations, patents);
  • Statement describing relationship of applicant’s research to field of electrochemical power sources (statement should be no longer than two double-spaced typewritten pages);
  • Research supervisor letter of recommendation.

Nominations are for one year. Renominations are accepted.

ECS Battery Division Student Research Award Committee members may not submit nominations or letters of support during their terms of service.

Recipient obligations

The award recipients are encouraged, but not required, to attend and present a lecture at the Society’s fall meeting.


The award consists of:

  • Framed certificate;
  • USD $1,000;
  • Complimentary ECS meeting student registration;
  • Up to USD $1,000 in ECS meeting travel expenses.

Two awards may be granted each year. 

About Mercedes-Benz Research & Development North America

Mercedes-Benz Research & Development North America (MBRDNA), develops and certifies cars for the U.S. and the world in six locations. Their work ranges from EV battery research to hybrid powertrain calibration and certification, from telematics to autonomous driving software, and from advanced exterior design to UX. “It’s not just about cars, it’s also about creating the latest and greatest software, cutting-edge technology, and groundbreaking innovation.”


For more information or questions, contact

Review the Society’s robust Honors & Awards and Fellowships & Grants Programs.


Gustavo Hobold
KyuJung Jun
Singyuk Hou
John Holoubek
Muhammad Mominur Rahman
Yang Yu
Matthias Kuenzel
Julian Self
Peter Attia
Leo Duchene
Fudong Han
Steven Lacey
Lin Ma
Billur Deniz Polat Karahan
Matteo Bianchini
Martin Ebner
Mohammed Ati

Yuhui Chen
Christopher Fell
Yi-Chun Lu
Nonglak Meethong
(2009)F. Jiao
K. Kang
C. Delacourt
A. Weber
K. W. Park
L. Fransson
V. Subramanian
M. Zhao
V. Srinivasan
G. Rousse
I. A. Courtney
S. Horn
J. Xu

S. Motupally
P. De Vidts
D. Qu
G. E. Gray
E. J. Podlaha
M. G. Lee
J. Weidner
C. C. Streinz
T. I. Evans
C. Y. Mak
W. A. van Schalkwijk
J. R. Waggoner
K. E. Yee