William D. Brown

ECS President | 2010-2011

ECS Treasurer | 1998-2002

William D. Brown

William (Bill) Brown holds the title of Distinguished Professor Emeritus since retiring from the University of Arkansas in 2008. During his tenure at the university he served as Head of the Department of Electrical Engineering, Associate Dean of Engineering for Research, and Director of the High Density Electronics Center (HiDEC), a world-class electronics packaging center that he established in 1991. Brown’s research has resulted in more than 350 scientific papers, 353 conference/workshop presentations, and 22 educational publications. In addition, he has co-authored and/or co-edited 4 textbooks and 4 book chapters and holds 15 U.S. patents. He has received honors for both his teaching and research. Dr. Brown received the Thomas D. Callinan Award from the ECS Dielectric Science and Technology Division in 1996 and was elected to Fellow status by the Society in 2002. He was elected to Fellow status by the IEEE in 2005.

From 1969 to 1977, Dr. Brown was a Member of the Technical Staff at Sandia National Laboratories in Albuquerque, New Mexico, where he designed electronic test equipment, developed semiconductor device fabrication technologies, and studied the effects of defects and radiation on semiconductor devices. After joining the University of Arkansas in 1977, his research interests included microelectronic fabrication technology, semiconductor device physics and reliability, material synthesis and characterization, and materials applications. He received his B.S. from the University of Arkansas in 1969, his MS from Pennsylvania State University in 1970, and his Ph.D. from the University of New Mexico in 1975, all in electrical engineering.

Dr. Brown has been a member of the Society since 1983 and is an Emeritus Member. He has served The Electrochemical Society as President (2010-2011), Vice-President (2007-2010) and as Treasurer (1998-2002); and the Dielectric Science and Technology Division as Secretary, Vice-Chair, and Chair. He has served on the Education Committee (1993-1998) and as its chair from 1994 to 1998. During that time, he was instrumental in the initiation of the highly successful Student Poster Session held at each ECS meeting. He also has served on the Technical Affairs Committee (2007-2009), the Ways and Means Committee (2007-2010), the Finance Committee (1998-2002), the Financial Policy Advisory Committee (1998-2007; Chair: 2002-2007), and the Audit Subcommittee (2006-2007). In addition, he served on the Society Meeting Committee (1998-2002), the Honors and Awards Subcommittee for the Henry B. Linford Award (1994-1997), the Fellows Selection Subcommittee of the Honors and Award Committee (2003-2010), on the Search Committee for the Editor of Electrochemical and Solid-State Letters (2002-2004), the Nominating Committee (2005-2006; 2007-2008), the Individual Membership Committee (2007-2008), the Corporate Sponsorship Committee (2009-2012), the Development Committee (2004-2009), the Ad Hoc Gift Acceptance Committee (2001-2009), and the Solicitation Subcommittee of the Corporate Sponsorship Committee (2009-2012).

While serving in these positions, Bill has been an ardent supporter of the Society’s efforts to disseminate technical information and expand the Society’s international activities. As a Society member, he has co-organized 28 symposia, including the well-regarded Silicon Nitride and Silicon Dioxide Thin Insulating Films, Low Temperature Electronics and High Temperature Superconductivity, Diamond Materials, and the III-V Nitride series. He has contributed a substantial number of papers to the Journal of The Electrochemical Society, the Letters journal, and ECS proceedings volumes.