Denis N. Buckley

ECS President | 2008-2009

Denis N. BuckleyDenis N. Buckley is Chair of Physics at the University of Limerick, Ireland. He received his B.Sc. (1971) and Ph.D. (1975) from the National University of Ireland. His thesis work in physical electrochemistry under Professor Declan Burke resulted in the first observation of electrochromism in anodic iridium oxide films. He subsequently pursued postdoctoral research at the University of Pennsylvania where he worked under the direction of Professor Wayne Worrell on the high temperature sulphidation/oxidation of nickel.

In 1979, he joined Bell Laboratories (Murray Hill, NJ) where he remained for seventeen years. Initially, he worked on the development of rechargeable lithium batteries and subsequently on the epitaxial crystal growth and characterization of compound semiconductor films and their application to high performance optoelectronic devices. This period saw an explosive growth in optical fiber communications and Dr. Buckley’s work played a key role in the development of the underlying technology, particularly in high performance photodetectors. He also did considerable work on the development of safer precursors for IIIV epitaxy. He held teaching positions as an adjunct professor at the Cooper Union (New York City) and the College of St. Elizabeth (Morristown, NJ). In 1996, Professor Buckley assumed his present position at the University of Limerick to pursue teaching and research. Currently, his research focuses on the electrical and optical properties of compound semiconductors, particularly indium phosphide and gallium nitride, for photonic and electronic devices, processes at the semiconductor/electrolyte interface, and the electrodeposition and nanostructural characterization of copper metallization.

Professor Buckley has been a member of ECS since 1979 and was elected a Fellow in 1997. He is currently Senior Vice-President. He has served as an Associate Editor of the Journal of The Electrochemical Society (1995-2004) and of Electrochemical and Solid-State Letters (1998-2004). He has been a member and chair of many of the Society’s committees and he currently chairs the Ways and Means Committee. He is serving his fifth year as a member of the Board of Directors. He has been a member of the Executive Committee of the Electronics and Photonics Division and its Compound Semiconductor Subcommittee for over 17 years and has served as Treasurer (1999-2001), Secretary (2001-2003), and Chair (2003-2005) of the Division. He has co-organized over 20 symposia, particularly in the SOTAPOCS series, and has co-edited sixteen Proceedings Volumes.