Energy Technology Division Walter van Schalkwijk Award in Sustainable Energy Technology

The ECS Energy Technology Division established the Walter van Schalkwijk Award in 2021 to recognize and reward research scientists, academicians, and entrepreneurs who make innovative and transformative contributions to sustainable energy technologies (devices, materials, and/or processes). Recognized research innovations in lean manufacturing, responsible consumption, alternative energy, waste management, and/or reuse/recycling, contribute to sustainability goals such as pollution prevention, resource conservation, and waste reduction/minimization.

Nomination Period: October 15 – January 15, annually
Presented: Fall meeting, annually

Recipient qualifications

Only currently active ECS members are considered. Aside from this requirement, award recipient(s) selection is based solely on the contributions or achievements defined below.

The award covers the field of interest defined as “that area of technology that enables the mechanisms, theory, materials, design, operation, control, and application of devices that contribute to sustainable energy production, consumption or storage.” It is conferred based on an outstanding achievement in, or contribution to, technology development related to sustainable energy and any of the aforementioned application areas. Award recipients are authors or coauthors of one or more research publications, proceedings’ articles, or patents.

The following selection criteria are applied to the nomination material:

  • Originality of concept;
  • Thoroughness of experimental approach;
  • Theoretical treatment;
  • Logic of conclusions;
  • Clarity of presentation;
  • Commercialization (if any);
  • Overall importance of contribution to the fundamental and/or applied aspects of energy-related science and technologies.

The award is intended to recognize recent achievements or contributions to the field that are expected to have an impact on future research and development. Consideration may be given to documents that appeared as much as 10 years before May 1 of the award year because the work’s significance has become more evident over time.

Nomination submissions

No member of the Award Subcommittee for this award may submit a nomination or letters of support during their term of service on the committee.

A complete nomination package includes:

  • Completed Electronic Nomination Form;
  • Nomination cover letter summarizing the candidate’s accomplishments and contributions;
  • Candidate’s CV including a complete publication list;
  • Three letters of recommendation;
  • Copies of six representative publications, proceedings’ articles, and/or patents demonstrating accomplishments.

An unsuccessful nomination will automatically remain active for the following two years if there is remaining eligibility. Self- nominations are permissible.


The award, presented annually at the Society’s fall meeting, consists of a framed certificate and monetary prize that is 1/25th of the endowment with a maximum amount of US $2,500. The recipient is asked to present a lecture to the ECS Energy Technology Division at the Society meeting when the award is conferred.


Katherine Ayers