High-Temperature Energy, Materials, & Processes Division Outstanding Achievement Award

Nomination period: October 15, odd years – January 15, even years
Presented: ECS fall meeting, even years

The High-Temperature Energy, Materials, & Processes Division Outstanding Achievement Award was established in 1984 to recognize excellence in research and outstanding technical contributions to the high-temperature energy, materials, and processes field.

Eligibility criteria

Recipients have made outstanding achievements in high-temperature energy, materials, and processes research or other significant technical contributions to the field.

Nomination guidelines

Self-nominations are not accepted.

A complete nomination packet includes:

  • A completed electronic nomination form;
  • The candidate’s curriculum vitae including a list of publications;
  • Nomination letter;
  • At least two reference letters (not including the nomination);
  • Any other pertinent information that might assist the members of the award committee in assessing the candidate.

Unsuccessful nominations are considered for one additional award cycle.


The award consists of:

  • Scroll;
  • USD $1,000;
  • Complimentary registration (if required);
  • Up to USD $1,000 in meeting travel expenses.
Recipient obligations

The award recipient presents a lecture to the ECS H-TEMP Division at the Society’s fall meeting when the award is given.


For more information or questions, contact awards@electrochem.org.

Review the Society’s robust Honors & Awards and Fellowships & Grants Programs.


Scott Barnett
Mogens Mogensen
Meilin Liu
Harlan Anderson
Janusz Nowotny
Eric Wachsman
Harry L. Tuller
David J. Young
Anil V. Virkar
Karl Spear
Harumi Yokokawa
Claude Bernard
Costantinos G. Vayenas
Subhash C. Singhal
H. Schmalzried
Robert A. Rapp
Wayne L. Worrell
J. Bruce Wagner, Jr.