High-Temperature Energy, Materials, & Processes Division J. Bruce Wagner, Jr. Young Investigator Award

The High-Temperature Energy, Materials, & Processes Division J. Bruce Wagner, Jr. Young Investigator Award was established in 1998 to recognize a young Society member who has demonstrated exceptional promise for a successful career in science and/or technology in the field of high-temperature energy, materials, and processes.

Nomination Period: October 15, even years – January 15, odd years
Presented: Fall meeting, odd years

Recipient qualifications

The recipient will be: (1) a member of the Society in good standing for at least two years prior to the date of nomination, and (2) the nominee’s fortieth (40) birthday may not precede April 1 of the year in which the award is made. Evidence of exceptional promise will be a body of scientific or technical work that is judged to have a significant positive and long-lasting impact in the area relevant to high-temperature energy, materials and/or processes. The body of work may include books, patents, and publications, one of which must be published in the Journal of The Electrochemical Society.

Self-nominations are not accepted. Unsuccessful nominations will be considered for one additional award cycle.


The award consists of a scroll, a US $1,000 prize, and complimentary registration (if necessary). The recipient is required to attend the Society meeting to receive the award and present a keynote talk at an H-TEMP-sponsored symposium. The recipient will receive up to US $1,000 in travel expenses to facilitate meeting attendance.

About J. Bruce Wagner, Jr.

J. Bruce Wagner, Jr. was a distinguished chemistry professor and researcher, having taught at Pennsylvania State University, Yale University, Northwestern University, and at Arizona State University and having published more than 100 technical papers. He was an active member of ECS for over forty years and served as President from 1983-1984.


Liangbing Hu
Nicola Perry
Cortney Kreller
Sean Bishop
Paul Gannon
Toshiaki Matsui
Juan Claudio Nino
X.-D. Zhou
R. Mukundan
M. Swihart
S. Haile
S. Mohney