Industrial Electrochemistry & Electrochemical Engineering Division Student Achievement Awards

Nomination Period: March 15 – June 15, annually
Presented: ECS spring meeting, annually

The ECS Industrial Electrochemistry and Electrochemical Engineering Division established the Student Achievement Awards to recognize promising young engineers and scientists in the field of electrochemical engineering. The awards are intended to encourage the recipients to initiate or continue careers in this field.

One of the multiple awards that may be given will be the H. H. Dow Memorial Student Achievement Award. The establishment in 1990 of this award in the IE&EE Division was made possible by a gift from The Dow Chemical Company Foundation honoring the memory of Herbert Henry Dow.

Eligibility criteria 

Candidates must be enrolled in a college or university or have been accepted for enrollment as a graduate student by the nomination deadline. 

Nomination submissions

A complete nomination package includes:

  • Completed electronic nomination form;
  • Transcripts of all post-secondary school (i.e., post high school) academic work;
  • Overview of the student’s current research project (maximum of two pages);
  • Statement describing the project’s relationship to the field of electrochemical engineering or applied electrochemistry;
  • Curriculum vitae or resume;
  • Letter of recommendation from the nominee’s research supervisor.

The award consists of:

  • Framed certificate;
  • USD $1,000;
  • One-year ECS membership
  • IE&EE Division Business Meeting & Luncheon ticket.
Recipients’ obligations
  • Recipients are invited, but not required, to present an award talk in an IE&EE division-sponsored symposium at the Society’s spring meeting;
  • Within one year after receiving the award, recipients are invited to submit to the Chair of the IE&EE division, a written summary of the research accomplished during their award year.
About H. H. Dow

Herbert Henry Dow (1866-1930) was a chemical industrialist, prolific inventor, and tenacious businessman. Among his many accomplishments is the development of electrolytic processes to produce bromides, bromine, chlorine and caustic soda, bleach, and magnesium metal. He founded the Dow Chemical Company in 1897.


Deepra Bhattaharya
Lauren Clarke

Matthew Liu
Eric McShane
Saket Bhargava
Xinyou Ke
Yasser Ashraf Gandomi
Bahareh Alsadat Tavakoli
Regis P. Dowd, Jr.

Paul Northrop
Venkata Raviteja Yarlagadda
Vedasri Vedharathinam
Wei Yan and Christopher Arges
Rainer Kungas
Venkatasailanathan Ramadesigan
Satheesh Sambandam
Paul Albertus
Vinten Diwakar
M. Shao

V. Sethuraman
I. AlNashef
P.M. Gomadam
V. Subramanian
B. Djurfors
C. Arvin
R. Lowrey
J. A. Drake
C. A. Smith
J. Mbindyo
Y.-E. Sung