Nanocarbons SES Research Young Investigator Award

The Nanocarbons SES Research Young Investigator Award was established in 2007 to recognize and reward an outstanding young researcher in the field of fullerenes, carbon nanotubes, and nanostructures (FNCN). Such early recognition of highly qualified scientists is intended to encourage especially promising researchers to remain active in the field. The award is named after the main contributor of the endowment, SES Research.

Nomination Deadline: September 1, odd years
Presented: Spring meeting, even years

Recipient Qualifications

The recipient will have made outstanding achievement in, or scientific contribution to, the science of nanocarbons. The award is open to young investigators who are 38 years old or younger as of the nomination deadline. An unsuccessful nomination will automatically remain active for the following two years.


The award consists of a scroll, and a $500 prize. The recipient is expected to present a lecture on his or her research work at one of the Nanocarbons Division symposia at the spring Society meeting when the award is given. The recipient will receive complimentary meeting registration to facilitate meeting attendance.

Past recipients

Markita Landry
Michael Arnold
Jiayan Luo
Not awarded
Aurelio Mateo-Alonso
Mark C. Hersam
Nikhil Koratkar