Tetsuya Osaka

ECS President | 2013-2014

Tetsuya OsakaTetsuya Osaka is a professor in the Department of Applied Chemistry, Faculty of Science and Engineering, Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan, a position he has held since 1986. He currently serves as Director of the Institute for Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, Waseda University.

Previously, he was Director of the Department of Applied Chemistry from 1996 to 1998, Dean of the Graduate School of Science and Engineering from 1998 to 2002, Provost of the Research Promotion Division from 2002 to 2006, Director of the Waseda Research Institute for Science and Engineering, and Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Research and Engineering from 2008 to 2010. He received his Doctor of Engineering degree in 1974 from Waseda University. In 1975, he was a post-doctoral fellow at Georgetown University, and in 1989 he served as a Visiting Professor at the University of Minnesota.

Dr. Osaka served as President of the Magnetics Society of Japan, President of the Electrochemical Society of Japan, President of the Japan Institute of Electronic Packaging, Vice-President of the Surface Finishing Society of Japan, Vice-President of the International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE), and Chair of the ECS Japan Section.

Prof. Osaka’s recent work is focused on electrochemical nanotechnology, including electro- and electroless-deposition/surface finishing, electronic packaging materials, magnetic storage and energy storage devices, and chemical- and bio-sensors. He has contributed as an author and/or editor to more than 70 books and published more than 890 original and review papers in these fields. He has been identified as one of the Highly Cited Researchers in the Materials Science category on the website of Thomson Scientific’s ISIHighlyCited.com.

Dr. Osaka’s technical contributions have been recognized by many awards including the Medal with Purple Ribbon bestowed by the Decoration Bureau of the Cabinet Office, Japan in 2010; Prizes for Science and Technology in the Development Category of the Commendation for Science and Technology by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science, and Technology in 2008; Society Award of the Magnetics Society of Japan in 2006; Chemical Society of Japan Award for 2003 in 2004; Pergamon Electrochimica Acta Gold Medal of ISE in 1998; Society Award of the Electrochemical Society of Japan in 2001; Society Award of the Surface Finishing Society of Japan in 1999; and the Simon Wernic International Award of the International Union for Surface Finishing in 1996.

Member of ECS since 1979

Dr. Osaka served as a leading organizer and a co-editor of many ECS proceedings volumes. He received Research Award of the Electrodeposition Division of ECS in 1996 and was elected a Fellow of ECS (2002), IEEE (2002), IUPAC (2004), and ISE (2006).