Corrosion Division Rusty Award for Mid-Career Excellence

Nomination period: October 15 – January 15, annually
Presented: ECS fall meeting, annually

The ECS Corrosion Division Rusty Award for Mid-Career Excellence was established in 2021 to recognize a scientist’s or engineer’s mid-career achievements and contributions to the field of corrosion science and technology.

Eligibility criteria

The scientist or engineer receiving this award meets these criteria:

  • Contributed to the field of corrosion science and technology;
  • Maintained ECS Corrosion Division membership for at least five (5) consecutive years prior to nomination;
  • Published in an ECS journal;
  • Satisfies one (1) of the following:
    • Holds a rank equivalent to Associate Professor/Associate Scientist/Associate Engineer or higher;
    • Graduated with their final degree a minimum of 10 years and a maximum of 25 years prior to the award nomination deadline.
Nomination guidelines

A complete nomination package includes:

  • Electronic nomination form;
  • Nomination letter;
  • Curriculum vitae/resume listing current employment and title; education and graduation dates; publications list; memberships and involvement with the Society; awards received; etc.
  •  Other pertinent information to assist the award committee members assess the candidate.

Unsuccessful nominations are considered for one additional award cycle if eligibility remains. Nominations may be updated.

ECS Corrosion Division Rusty Award Committee members may not submit nominations or letters of support during their terms of service.


The award consists of:

  • Framed certificate;
  • USD $1,000;
  • Complimentary registration at the designated ECS fall meeting;
  • May receive up to USD $1,000 toward ECS meeting travel expenses.
Recipient obligations

The award recipient presents a lecture on their research at a designated ECS Corrosion Division fall meeting symposium when the award is presented.

Award name

ECS Corrosion Division members named their new award “Rusty,” in reference to corrosion, their field of interest.


For more information or questions, contact

Review the Society’s robust Honors & Awards and Fellowships & Grants Programs.


Rajeev Gupta
David Bastidas